RSS

Wordy Wednesday: Summer Books of 2009

16 Jul

Since I’ve already contributed my Wordless Wednesday post for the day, I thought I would now share a Wordy Wednesday post. I have been reading a LOT lately… I mean, really, what else is there to do when it’s so godforsaken hot that you sweat just sitting still? In front of a fan? With no clothes on?

I won’t bore you all with lengthy reviews of all the titles I’ve devoured lately ( at least I’ll try not to… I tend to get a little, well, wordy when talking books,, LOL!). I thought I would just do a quick little bulletpoint list and share a few brief thoughts and opinions of each.

Let’s the bookishness begin!

  • Austenland by Shannon Hale: I’m almost embarrassed to admit it, but I have never even read Pride & Prejudice (or any other of Jane Austen’s works). I’ve just never felt that compulsion, which is odd, since I do rather enjoy an occasional historical romance, and P&P has oft been touted as the best one ever. I have a friend who absolutely adores all things Austen, so I thought I would read this one, based on her high recommendation. I’m pleased to say that I wasn’t disappointed. A very small book, which I easily read in two evenings of leisure on the porch, I was especially happy with the ending. And I’m now not only looking forward to Shannon Hale’s newest release, The Actor and the Housewife, but I’m also contemplating diving into P&P!
  • Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom by Julie Kenner: I first encountered this book probably a year and a half ago while browsing at Borders, but totally forgot to ever check and see if the library had it in stock. This past Monday I went to my favorite new place on earth (Half Price Books) and stumbled across it there for a mere $2.00. Knowing that I was going to be spending a couple hours waiting on hubby to go thru surgery the next morning, I went ahead and picked it up. And if I must be honest, I haven’t put it down since. Except to go to work today. And even that was painful. I desperately wanted to be reading, which to me, is a sign that I am truly enjoying a book. Light-hearted, but still well written, Julie Kenner has taken a genre of books that seems to be really overdone these days and done the unexpected– made it fresh & fun. I highly recommended this one, and can’t wait to read the next installment in the series.
  • With a Twist by Deirdre Martin: The first in her new Wild Hart saga, I loved how it combined food & romance. Two of my favorite things. I discovered Deirdre Martin a few months ago by reading a recommendation of another series of hers on Sassymonkey Reads. Looking forward to the next in this series as well.
  • Not Becoming My Mother by Ruth Reichl: Simply put, I adore Ruth Reichl. I want to be her when I grow up. A huge thank you to my best friend Heather for giving me a RR book for Christmas many years ago, or else I would have likely never encountered the greatness that is Ruth’s food writing. This small volume (and I literally mean small, it is tiny) was not what I expected. It veers very far away from her normal writing, and is instead a tribute to her mother. A beautiful, moving tribute to a mother that she strived her entire life to be nothing like– I can’t imagine a single woman reading this and not being struck with the urgent need to call their own mother and thank them for all their sacrifices.
  • The Bookman’s Promise by John Dunning: If you have not read the Cliff Janeway novels by John Dunning— go. Go RIGHT now and buy Booked to Die, the first in the series. Set in the world of antiquarian and collectible books, they are a must for any lover of books. Add an insanely well written mystery plot line, and John Dunning can do no wrong. I’m currently re-reading the series, although I can find no hints or clues anywhere that a new one is in the works:( Boo.

Whew. There it is — a brief sampling of what I’ve been up to… when I’ve not been blogging. Or cleaning. Or balancing my checkbook. (You get the drift:)). So now… what about you? I’d love to hear what you’ve been reading!

 
 

4 responses to “Wordy Wednesday: Summer Books of 2009

  1. shortmama

    July 16, 2009 at 5:18 am

    These all sound great! I hadnt read anything in months and now I just cant stop the desire to read. Right now I am reading The Choice by Nicholas Sparks. It is a bookclub choice for a book club blog (try to say that 3 times fast!). So far pretty good.

     
  2. chelle

    July 17, 2009 at 1:12 am

    YAY I am so putting some of these titles on hold at the library!

     
  3. Jessican

    July 18, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    I love the Cliff Janeway bookman books. I think I still need to read the most recent one. Thank for the reminder.

    I've been on a science kick this month. I read Physics of the Impossible by Michio Kaku and now I'm reading The Drunkards Walk: How Randomness Rules our Lives.

    I walk to pick up this Fleetwood Mac bio I saw recently. I'm in the mood for a trashy memoir!

     
  4. Jessica

    July 19, 2009 at 12:04 am

    JessicaN: I saw The Drunkards Walk at the bookstore and was intrigued by it. Let me know what you think! My list seems to lean towards light-hearted fiction at the moment, just because I've been waiting on my non-fiction choices to arrive at the library, LOL. I'm reading Girls of Ames now. Have you read that one?

     

Leave a Reply

 
