RSS

Good Morning, Sunshine!

24 Aug

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a million times… I am NOT a morning person.  I despise having to get up to an alarm clock every morning, and the incessant screeching of my husband’s alarm just sets my teeth on edge.  I’ve asked him repeatedly to change the tone, so that maybe it won’t be quite as abrasive to my sleeping ears, but he swears it is the only sound that will wake him.   And to be fair, it’s not only my husband’s alarm that irritates me in the morning… it’s well…everything.  Suffice to say, I am not at my best in the early hours.  I’ve always wanted to be different. I’ve wanted to be someone who just wakes naturally (with no need for the screeching alarm), and just hops out of bed, ready to face the day with a smile and boundless energy.   That I would be someone who would get up before I actually needed to, so that I could savor a cup of coffee and the morning newspaper. (Did I mention I don’t even subscribe to the paper??)  Someone who would whip up a nutritious, healthy breakfast for the kids, with fresh squeezed orange juice and strong coffee served along with a dollop of “Good morning, my sweet children!!”.  Hmph.  I can’t remember the last time that happened. 

And here we are again, racing the clock each morning. Struggling, every day, to get to school on time, even though I’ve been rising earlier than normal.   It goes without saying that I love my children dearly, but boy, do I miss the days when I was the only person I had to get up and around.  Pre-children, it used to take me about an hour and a half to shower and get ready and out of the house.  Now, I find that amount of time laughable:)  If it was just me, I could be up and out in, oh say…. 25 minutes tops.  With children though, every morning is a crapshoot.  You just don’t know what’s going to happen.  No matter how much I try to be prepared and have clothes laid out, bags ready to go, papers all signed, something inevitably happens that throws off the rhythm.  

Am I the only one who has this problem?  Does anyone have any morning routine tips?  I think half of the reason I hate mornings so much is simply beause I  get so tired and frustrated by the battles.   I’m exhausted before my feet even hit the floor,  just thinking of dragging out of bed the grouchy kids who don’t want to get up, no matter how early I sent them to bed the night before.   

I should have expected this as they got older—after all…. they are my children;)

 

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Good Morning, Sunshine!

  1. Heather

    August 24, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    My mom swears by a strict, regular bedtime of 8pm. Lights out….no books or tv. I know that may seem impossible, but my mom also says it takes 30 days of repeated behavior to form a habit, so maybe a paper chain with 30 loops to get the kids involved in the “excitement” of the bed time.

    But, then again….what do I know. I have NO kids and I haven’t had to set an alarm in years. I miss sleeping in :/ I wish my body would let me do it.

     
  2. Heather

    August 24, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Oh……I like the new blog digs!

     
    • Jessica

      August 24, 2009 at 9:01 pm

      Thanks!! I’m totally loving WP! Thanks for the tips– I really do try to keep a consistent bedtime. It’s more of a selfish thing really– I get so little time with the kids by the time I get off work, that I probably let them stay up later than I should:( I like the paper chain idea!

       
  3. Amanda

    August 24, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    I kind of ride the fence on this one. While I am not Miss dippity do da day in the morning, I also dont usually have any problem getting up and motivated. I normally get up at 7 during the week even though I really dont have to get up until 730. Now typically I will lay in bed for about 15 minutes or so that way I can wake myself up. Then I get the oldest up so she can start waking up…she is definitely not a morning person. She is slow moving in the morning. She needs a good 15-20 minutes to wake herself up before she can even function. I offer to make her a real breakfast before school but she never wants it. If she didnt have to go to school she wouldnt even want breakfast until about 9. Obviously she cant wait on school days. Her typical breakfast is usually a pop tart or maybe cereal (not normal) or maybe some eggs (also not normal) or sometimes sausage biscuits. So I still spend my mornings frustrated but its because Im usually hollering at the oldest to get her butt ready and out the door!

     
    • Jessica

      August 24, 2009 at 9:15 pm

      *Whew* I’m glad it’s not just my kids with the breakfast thing. They won’t eat at school because breakfast is open to all ages, so it’s just absolute chaos. I’m doing good to get a Pop Tart down them. I get up between 6 and 6:15. We really need to leave by 7:20, but usually don’t get out the door till 7:30-7:35. The kids have to be IN class by 7:45. Last year, it was 8:15, so this time difference is really hard to get used to!

       
      • Amanda

        August 24, 2009 at 11:23 pm

        Yeah Rhiannon could eat lunch at school too but I know I could never trust her to actually eat instead of just gabbing away at her friends. At least I know she ate something if she eats at home. Im lucky that school here doesnt start until 845! I normally drop her off about 830 because they get to have recess outside before school starts and she doesnt want to miss it.

         
  4. Cyndi

    August 25, 2009 at 6:39 am

    The blog looks great and it’s SO much easier to comment now!!

    I’m not a morning person either. I’m better than I used to be. Before kids, no one was even allowed to speak to me before I’d been up for at least 1-2 hours. I was so crabby. I’m naturally a night person. I like to stay up late and sleep in a little. As you know, JOBS and KIDS prevent me from all that most of the time. 🙂 I’m much more pleasant in the morning than I used to be though.

    I have no tips to offer. It’s a crap-shoot every day here too.

     
  5. Jessica

    August 25, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Thanks, Cyndi!! I like it a lot better now too! I really love the build in stats… it’s addictive to keep checking them, LOL!

     
  6. fuzzycricket

    August 26, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Really! I’m not laughing at you, I’m laughing because it’s true…er, with you. What *is* it about mornings that just throw us for a loop. I can have the perfect routine ready to go, then a shoelace breaks, a back pack goes missing, the kids’ bathroom faucet starts leaking, the bacon sets off the fire alarm, the Girl nibbles rather than takes bites of her breakfast and takes 50 minutes to eat one piece of toast…well, you get the picture.

    So, I sympathize and chuckle and send you some virtual premium coffee blend.

     
    • Jessica

      August 27, 2009 at 8:05 pm

      Exactly!! “and takes 50 minutes to each one piece of toast”… that is my daughter! It’s so exasperating. *sigh* Thanks for the coffee. I needed it.

       
  7. HeatherPride

    August 26, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Thankfully the kids that I keep arrive about 30 minutes before I have to get my son out of bed, so I’m up for at least an hour before I need to get him up. If it weren’t for them, we’d be morning scramblers too, because I am right with ya in not being a morning person!!

     
  8. Jessica

    August 27, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    HeatherPride: So good to see you, girl! I’m glad you stumbled over here to my new page. I’ve missed your blogs– glad to see your back in the loop now that the kids started school. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
