RSS

I Dreamed a Dream

27 Aug

I’ve decided I need a vacation.  Yes, yes, I know I just got back from one (I really do need to share some of those pictures here… hm. Add that to the list).  But I swear, it’s been nothing but go, go, go, get sick, go, go since I returned.  I spent all day yesterday in bed trying to sleep off the bug that suddenly decided to invade my body.  I’m finally feeling a little better, but the stomach is still kinda touch & go.  Ok, enough said about the inner workings of my gastronomic system.  What I really want to talk about is vacation.  Specifically, a vacation with my bloggy friends.  I’ve never been much of a daydreamer, but I think I lost a good hour (at least) today dreaming up where and what I would like to go do on vaca with you.. my awesome readers!  So pack your bags, get your passports ready and load up your memory card… cause here we go!!

* Disclaimer: In no way shape or form is this vacation meant to leave anyone out.  I simply invited the three first people that jumped to mind.  The rest of you are more than welcome to jump on board… we’ll save you a place at the floating bar in the pool!*

Amanda aka ShortMama:  Let’s hit the road, chica.  You bring Captain, I’ll bring Coke –diet, diet with lime, cherry, you name it… I got it under control.  (BTW… I apologize in advance for the fact that I can’t hold my liquor.  I will need a full recap of our adventure when it’s over, cause I’m sure I won’t remember it.)Then we’re going to hit the open road Thelma and Louise style and find us a Brad Pitt looking kinda guy for eye candy.  No worries, we aren’t going to do anything *smirk* with him– we’re way too faithful to our hubbies for that– but hey, it never hurts to appreciate a good work of Man-art, does it?  We’ll stop off for some chicken & waffles at a little soul food diner along the way.  (Oh, I’m so sorry, Mr. Brad Look-a-Like– did I really drip syrup down your chest?? Here… let me help you with that.)  Let’s crank up the tunes, a little Fleetwood Mac, Eric Clapton (I have a feeling you like your 1970’s rock), and let the wind blow through our (newly shortened) hair! 

Cyndi aka So Much More Than a Mom:  We’re going to need the passport, my friend, cause we’re going to Italia!  Tony Bourdain called me last week (did I forget to mention that?? My bad.) and told me he needs a break from his new wife, she’s wearing him out.  I told him he never should have left Nancy, and he seemed very interested in my opinion.  He’s offered to provide us with a hands-on tour of Italy (and any other hands-on tour we want, I am sure:)).  I know he’s getting up there in age, but he quit smoking, so his stamina’s got to be better than the last time you ‘spent time’ with him, right?  Right??  Ok, where was I?  After we finish getting fat and happy with Tony- and yes, he asked that we call him Tony- we’re gonna jet back to New York to do a little hobknobbin’ with John Mayer.  He kindly agreed to put on a private show of his upcoming album material (drop date November 17th- no charge for the plug, j) just for little ole us.  Wasn’t that nice of him?  He offered us some green carpet too… but I told him this was a “family” blog and that I couldn’t be having experiences that I couldn’t recount fully for my faithful readers.  Anyway– all is set– just bring the passport, stunna shades, and a low cut shirt, and we’ve got them in the bag. Oops, I meant, we have THIS in the bag.  Damn Freudian slips will get ya every time.

Last, but certainly not least, Miss Fuzzy Cricket:  As luck would have it, Dierks Bentley is going to be in the big OKC just two weeks from now.  Head on down to O-Town, and we can get our perfect outfits picked out (and yes, we have to wear “little white tank tops”.)  I’ll go ahead and grab our VIP tickets, cause you know DB wants us up-close-and-personal for his viewing pleasure.  PLEASE bring your amazing camera and photography skills with you, cause girlie, this is going to be a night to remember!!    And even though we are considered by some to be “hicks” here in Oklahoma, we do have many wonderful Indian restaurants.  We can go boo-fay it to our hearts content!  I’ll even put ya up for a night at the Swank Motel (yes, it really exists).  And I promise, you’ll want to get a picture just to prove it to your Sprogs.  It’s right next door to the “Catfish & Pancakes” restaurant.

So there you have it, ladies.  I’ve got it ALL planned out!  Now all I need is  for you to get your homes ready for you to be gone for an undetermined amount of time.

Oh crap.  And there’s the kink in the plan.  Well… it was a nice dream.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “I Dreamed a Dream

  1. Amanda

    August 27, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Do you know how giddy it made me to read about this adventure? I have no life, truly! You hit it on the head with the music for sure lol. Would you believe I also like country…damn cowboy is rubbing off on me! And you are in trouble if you cant hold your liquor around me girl hehe.

     
    • Jessica

      August 28, 2009 at 1:18 pm

      Once upon a time there lived a girl who could hold her liquor. And then she turned 29, and could no longer do so. She does not know what it was about the magical number 29- but alas, things have never been the same since that fateful day, oh so long ago.

       
      • Amanda

        August 28, 2009 at 10:49 pm

        LOL oddly enough I cant drink beer. For one I dont like the taste and B) (yes I did that on purpose to see if you are paying attention) I get drunk after a couple beers. However give me a mixed drink and I can go all night!

         
      • Jessica

        August 28, 2009 at 10:54 pm

        It’s all about Bud Lime for me. The day I found it in the convenience store in cans (perfect for the lake!), I literally squealed like a ten year old girl at a Jonas Brothers concert. There’s no shame in my game, that’s for sure.

         
      • Amanda

        August 28, 2009 at 10:57 pm

        I havent tried that

         
  2. Cyndi

    August 28, 2009 at 1:12 am

    Well you have just tapped into so many of my own dreams! And I am so honored that you included me. Italy – YES. Bourdain & Mayer – YES, YES, OH GOD, YES! (sorry, got a little carried away there) Freud references – Bring em! How fun would that be?? You didn’t mention any alcohol for our trip but since you did for your other trip, I’m going to assume it’s ok for me to bring an arsenal of booze. It’s how I roll. Fun post! 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      August 28, 2009 at 1:24 pm

      To be honest, I figured I’d be too hungover from hanging out with ShortMama to even care about drinking on our trip. But really… would I be able to resist wines personally recommended by Tony? I. Think. Not.

       
  3. fuzzycricket

    August 28, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    How clever are you!!! You planned the perfect vacations right down to the nitty gritty details. I am *SO* there! I’m picking up a new white tank top and buying a new flashcard.

    This seriously tickled my funny bone and got my mind going over vacations. Especially as I sit here helping DS with his Spanish homework.

     
    • Jessica

      August 28, 2009 at 4:49 pm

      What was your little bug doing home? I think we’re only an hour apart in time. I’m glad you found it humorous;) I always post things that crack me up– and then the next morning, I look at it, and think, “I bet people think I am CRAZY!”. Oh well… that’s just how I roll, I guess:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
