RSS

Take a Look… It’s In A Book

29 Aug

Today, I lost a little piece of myself.  Specifically, a piece of my childhood.  Like many others, my childhood was shaped and molded by the wonderful PBS show Reading Rainbow.  The final episode of Reading Rainbow aired yesterday, ending its amazing 26 year run.  NPR featured a great article about the power of the show and the reasons behind the discontinuation.

I’m not ashamed to admit it.  I teared up.  I’m feeling a little emotional even writing this.  I can vividly recall spending summer break days watching RR.  I always sang along to the theme song, as I’m sure many others did.  It’s one catchy little ditty:)  I desperately wanted to be one of the book reviewers featured at the end of the show.  In fact, I’m pretty sure I remember submitting an entry to do so.   I kept lists of featured titles that interested me so that I could see if the local library had a copy.  In short…this show made me who I am today.  A theme-song-singing, book loving  list maker.   And thank God for that.

Reading Rainbow taught many children over its two decade run to love reading, to love books, to treasure the adventures to be found inside the book covers.  I’m very sad to see it go.

But you don’t have to take my  word for it.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Take a Look… It’s In A Book

  1. Amanda

    August 29, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    I loved that show! I tried so hard to get Rhiannon to like it too but she never did, and now Layla will miss out. Damn, no Reading Rainbow or Mister Rogers? What the hell will they do now!?

     
    • Jessica

      August 30, 2009 at 12:52 pm

      It’s the end of an era… the world is now run by Spongebob and Dora. At least Sesame Street is still around. It is, isn’t it?? Please don’t tell me if it isn’t. I don’t think I could take it.

       
  2. michigansmissingglove

    August 30, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Aww, I didn’t know about this, but now I’m so depressed. What will America’s youth do without Levar Burton!?

     
    • Jessica

      August 30, 2009 at 12:53 pm

      I know, I know! And also… what will LeVar do now? I will never be able to look at him without thinking of RR. It’s just not physically possible!

       
  3. Cyndi

    August 30, 2009 at 11:22 am

    I honestly don’t remember this show at all, which is unbelievable since I’ve always been an avid reader, even as a kid. I’m sorry for your loss Jess. 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      August 30, 2009 at 12:54 pm

      Cyndi– I’m so shocked! I am really surprised that this little gem slipped through your bookish fingers. I desperately hope that it is released on DVD someday, but I don’t understand how all that “rights” stuff works, so who knows. *sigh* Till then… butterfly in the sky… I can go twice as high…:) I don’t know if you ever noticed, but my avatar on goodreads is a Reading Rainbow photo:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
