RSS

Confession

04 Sep

Confession: I’m having a hard time reading House of Leaves, one of my picks for the R.I.P. Challenge.  I knew it was going to be challenging and slow-going, due to the extremely unique layout and formatting of the book, but wowzer– I’ve been reading on it since last weekend, and am on page 21, of over 700!  (** I feel the need to mention here that I am a quick reader. I can often read a regular sized novel in one night.**)  This book is  intimidating me, which I absolutely hate, because I WANT to love it.  It appeals to me visually, the plot appeals to me, the writing is unique.  It’s just so darn hard to keep focused on because you’re constantly reading footnotes and trying to figure out who is speaking. 

Argh.  It’s so hard to explain.  Here are some example photos to help illustrate my point:

I hate feeling this way. Maybe I should move on to another pick and try to revitalize myself? This one is sucking the life out of me!!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2009 in R.I.P. 2009

 

16 responses to “Confession

  1. Xazmin

    September 4, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    What the heck? I have never seen a book like this. Am I missing something?

     
  2. Jessica

    September 4, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Hi Xazmin, thanks for stopping by my page– so glad to have you:)
    It’s definitely a very experimental novel. I really want to make it through it, but I just don’t know–it’s quite a commitment!

     
  3. Jenny

    September 5, 2009 at 10:06 am

    I’ve had a hard time with this one too. I never got past about page 50, and eventually I gave up on it. I expect you’ll feel better if you give it a break and try again later.

     
    • Jessica

      September 6, 2009 at 10:16 am

      I suspect you’re right, Jenny. I need to spend today reading something that isn’t so much work, LOL. I’m glad it’s not just me who has had a hard time with this book. I don’t feel like such a quitter now:)

       
  4. Cyndi

    September 5, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Ooohhh…now I feel the need to read it. This really is a reading challenge!

     
    • Jessica

      September 8, 2009 at 10:47 am

      That it definitely is:) You’ll have to let me know if you’re more succesful than I, LOL!

       
  5. Amanda

    September 5, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    How strange! I cant stick with a book if it cant hold my attention. I give a book 50 pages and if Im not hooked then its done for!

     
    • Jessica

      September 6, 2009 at 10:18 am

      I rarely give up on a book. I try desperately to hold on….waiting for that turn-around point, LOL!

       
  6. Terri B.

    September 8, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    I’ve looked at this book before and it intimidates me too! I think I would struggle with the footnotes; they would be very distracting to me. Wilkie Collins included quite a few footnotes in Woman in White; some of the footnotes too up half the page! Very very distracting.

     
    • Jessica

      September 8, 2009 at 7:25 pm

      Exactly right, Terri! The footnotes, along with the fact that the font changes depending on whose perspective you are supposed to be reading from, makes for a very confusing read. I’ve started, and am thoroughly enjoying, something much lighter at the moment. I suspect I’ll try HoL again on a cold, wintry day when it begins to call my name again.

       
  7. chasingbawa

    September 14, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Hi, great blog! I know how you feel. Sometimes, the book just doesn’t gel, and it’s really frustrating. But if you leave it for a while, it might be easier next time. Good luck!

     
    • Jessica

      September 14, 2009 at 10:27 am

      Thanks! I plan on revisiting it in the future, but for now, I’m giving my brain a rest, LOL.

       
  8. Ann-Kat (Today, I Read...)

    September 14, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Yowsa that book looks complicated, but fun (in a masochistic way). Definitely one that needs to be tempered with lighter reads. But I’m curious to see what you make of it when you do finish. 🙂

     
  9. Jessica

    September 14, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    LOL- yes, masochistic would be exactly the correct word:) Nicely said. If I ever find the discipline to struggle thru it, I’ll be sure and let you know what I think!! Thanks for visiting the OB!

     

Leave a Reply

 
