RSS

Population 11,311

07 Sep
A lot of people called it prison when I was growin up
These are my roots and this is what I love
Cause everybody knows me and i know them
And I believe that’s the way we were supposed to live
Wouldn’t trade one single day in small town USA
– Justin Moore

Saturday  was one of those days where everything  went right.  The stars aligned, the planets were in the right retrograde, whatever lingo you want to use. It was just a downright perfect day. We travelled to my hometown (Elk City, OK) to help my niexe Alexis Nicole celebrate turning three. Although I didn’t get any pictures of the actual party (I was too busy trying to keep both me and my daughter upright on our skates), I did get many shots of the time we spent together after the party.

Stop one: Rodeo Parade. Labor Day weekend is always Rodeo Weekend in Elk City, and it is a BIG affair in my small hometown. The excitement was palpable in the air. It made me want to bust out my old lace-up boots and try to squeeze my ass into some of my old Wranglers.

The beautiful birthday girl.
A4

Jalyn is a superstar!
A2

Jalyn & G-Daddy waiting for the parade to start.
A3

It was super hot, but Jaxen stayed cool under his umbrella.
A1

Stop two: Ackley Park. This is the park I grew up frequenting, and after thirty years, the city finally purchased new playground equipment. It was bittersweet to return there and not see the same things, but the new playcenter is really, really cool. I’m sure it will be the playground my children and my niece remember their entire lives.

Jalyn, age 5, and Lexi, age 3.

B1

My little sis, Sarah, with the girls on the last carousel ride of the summer.B2

The Three (Kenney) Amigos

B4

And sometimes, the perfect moment appears right in front of you.  Like this.

B3

 I miss my family. I miss my hometown. While growing up there, all I could think about was getting out, moving on to bigger and better things. Now all I can think about it how much I miss both the town and the wonderful people there. Although I no longer recognize every face I see while visiting, I inevitably run into at least two or three people I do remember, and two or three more that I remember, but can’t recall their names. These are the people who guided me as a child, a middle-schooler, a teen, and helped shape me into the person I am today. It seems weird to me sometimes that they aren’t doing the same for my kids.

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2009 in Hometown

 

12 responses to “Population 11,311

  1. Amanda

    September 7, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    So funny. I just went to meet up with my mom to give her some things and on the way back home I started thinking about a post about growing up here in nowhereville. Sounds similar to your hometown, except our population is under 4000 lol

     
    • Jessica

      September 7, 2009 at 8:43 pm

      It’s funny how the things you hate growing up, you find yourself craving as you get older:) I’d love to read about your nowheresville, too!

       
      • Amanda

        September 7, 2009 at 10:02 pm

        Absolutely…I hated living here as I got to be a teen. All I ever dreamed about was leaving here and getting to live in the city. Did that for a couple of years, met the Cowboy and couldnt wait to come back “home”

         
  2. kristy hall

    September 7, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    i would love for my kids to grow up in the “country” =) I used to love spending summers and breaks with my dad in Coalgate. I loved how everyone new everyones business. lol I know they all complained about it but i would love it. So many people i went to highschool with still live here in Edmond and i have ran into 1 person in the 11 years since i have been out. now that is crazy!!

     
    • Jessica

      September 7, 2009 at 8:46 pm

      That’s exactly why we’re trying to get all our ducks in a row so we can move out to the country, near a small town, so that the kids can go to a small school system & we can have that sense of community that just doesn’t exist in a big city. Actually, Jr. just wants to move so he has somewhere to hunt and store his trucks, LOL.

       
      • kristy hall

        September 9, 2009 at 11:34 am

        haha too funny Jess! and he needs that!! I hope you guys are able to. Just not too far. =) Maybe one of these days we will as well.

         
  3. Cyndi

    September 7, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Awww….what a bittersweet feeling. Beautiful pics of beautiful kids! My hometown is just another suburb of Chicago, not that small, and only 20 minutes from here but I can imagine how different it is coming from such a small town and only returning occassionally. Glad you had such a nice day there!

     
    • Jessica

      September 7, 2009 at 8:44 pm

      Thank you–I just love taking pictures of the kids with all their cousins. I hope they stay close as they get older:)

       
  4. fuzzycricket

    September 8, 2009 at 10:55 am

    It’s nice to belong to a place, to have it claim you. Loved the post. Loved the photos. Especially that sweet last one. Way to sum up those feelings that tie us together as a community and even as family.

     
    • Jessica

      September 9, 2009 at 1:11 pm

      Isn’t that the truth…”have it claim you”. So nicely said!!

       
  5. 2kids...3martinis

    September 11, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    Hey there, Jess. Sorry I haven’t been by to visit much in your new place. It’s just downright lovely, if you ask me.
    My favorite photo up there is the one of the girlies holding hands on the carousel. **sigh** Just beautiful!
    I do know how you feel. I’ve been missing my family functions for a while now, even though while I was close to it, I was annoyed by the demands of it all. You just don’t know what you’ve got ’till it’s out of reach. There’s much to be said for the people you call family and the feeling you get in those small towns. Can’t replicate it anywhere.

     
    • Jessica

      September 12, 2009 at 10:48 am

      That’s ok, girlie–it’s not like you’ve been busy vacationing, back-to-school-ing, photoshopping, etc….:) And the carousel pic is my favorite as well. Definitely a framer.

       

Leave a Reply

 
