RSS

It’s Fun Being a Girl!

19 Sep

There are certain things that really suck about being female. I’m sure I don’t need to lay them all out there for you, my beloved (mostly female) readers, as I’m sure you know what they are, i.e. “that time of the month”, leg shaving, etc. But today was one of those days that made me appreciate being of the female persuasion. It was just me and my little Sister Bear, as the boys went to Kansas to watch some drag-racing. We opted to enjoy a lunch at the place of little J’s choosing (Long John Silvers- she loves her coleslaw!). Then we were off to spoil ourselves a little by going for a pedicure. I have only had one pedi in my life (for the wedding), always choosing to spend my money on books instead:), but we splurged today and both got one. It was so fun to watch Jalyn wiggle and squirm as the lady rubbed and scrubbed her little footsies. She loved being pampered, and every one who walked by the salon grinned when they saw her enjoying herself so.

FirstPedi

We both decided to go with a Halloween theme, alternating orange and black. What can I say? We love our holidays around here! We call them our candy corn toes.

CCToes

Next we were off for a hair appointment for me…not really fun for Sis, I guess…but she did tell me my hair looked pretty when we left. I added some new colors this time, opting for the shades of Coffee and Hot Rum. I feel like an alcoholic beverage in the making! And I LOVE it! So glad I decided to stray from my normal red and blonde. Still have some blonde on top, but the dark brown underneath is really, really pretty. Of course, my lovely hairdresser (also named Jessica), cleaned up the cut as well, which was desperately needed. Isn’t it funny how much better a new haircut/color can make you feel?

NewHair

I’m feeling a little feisty with my sassy new hair & festive toes– too bad my hubby will be so exhausted by the time they return tonight. (Did I mention they left at 3:45 this morning!! No.Thank.You.) We’re off to enjoy some macaroni & cheese (cause we can eat just pasta for dinner if we want, darn it!), and watch Strawberry Shortcake.

Getting to spend just “girl time” with Jalyn has been so much fun, probably even more so for me:) We need to schedule this time for ourselves more often, if not just for our toes sake, but also for our mother/daughter relationship. Nothing makes me happier than seeing my kiddos smile, and poor Sissy’s face is about to burst today, she’s been smiling so big. And besides…sometimes, being a girl really isn’t that bad.:)

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 19, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

15 responses to “It’s Fun Being a Girl!

  1. chelle

    September 19, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    What fun!! I so adore mom and daughter time!

     
    • Jessica

      September 19, 2009 at 9:00 pm

      And just think, Chelle, now you have TWO beautiful girls to spend your m/d time with…lucky girl:)

       
  2. Amanda

    September 19, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Awww I love mommy daughter time too! I have only had a couple pedicures before and took Rhiannon once…I should take her again soon…have a little pedi and a fun lunch…perfect date!

    And your hair…delicious….I want to drink it right up. *slurp*

     
    • Jessica

      September 20, 2009 at 10:42 am

      That just made me laugh out loud…truly…you said slurp! HAHAHAHAHA!

       
  3. Jenny

    September 19, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Well, this was a rather cheering post. For predictable reasons I am feeling very down on being a girl right now, but you’re right. There are many fun things too. Like pretty feet and new shoes and dresses! Ah, perspective. 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      September 20, 2009 at 10:43 am

      You just reminded me, Jenny, how I didn’t even touch the iceberg of many other things I love about being a girl…including high heels:) Nothing like some heels to make you feel sassy!

       
  4. kristy hall

    September 19, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    ahh so cute and i love the hair. i cant wait till Kayden enjoys stuff like that. not too much longer. =)

     
    • Jessica

      September 20, 2009 at 10:44 am

      Thanks, girlie—I just showered and combed the new hair, and WOW! I had not realized exactly how long it had gotten. I didn’t even have any tangles this morning, LOL! I love that “fresh from the salon feel” after you get a haircut.

      And yes, Kayden will be there before you know it. You girls already play beauty shop, which is just as fun!

       
  5. fuzzycricket

    September 20, 2009 at 10:34 am

    LOVE the Halloween toes! What a fun way to indulge the feminine side. Girls’ outings are the best!

     
    • Jessica

      September 20, 2009 at 10:45 am

      Thank you!! I feel like I haven’t talked to you in forever, LOL…hope you have had a great week:) We’ve decided to go festive for all holidays, so I think Thanksgiving will be a darker orange and brown, and then, of course, for Christmas, red & green.

       
  6. Cyndi

    September 20, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    What a perfect day! I love girl-time, even though I don’t have daughters to share it with. I love your new ‘do too! I’m getting mine done, after months of neglect, next week and I can’t wait.

     
    • Jessica

      September 21, 2009 at 8:20 pm

      Cyndi: I firmly believe that your hair appt. is a wonderful step in your “back to me” plan. It’s amazing how much better one feels after getting a little self-maintenance done:)

       
      • Cyndi

        September 22, 2009 at 6:23 am

        I know, I so can’t wait! As you know, finances have been tight AND hubby has taken over the checkbook. He had no idea how much a cut & highlight cost. I had to break it to him gently. I think he’s seriously still freaking out about it a little bit but it must be done! 🙂

         
  7. Maggie

    September 21, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    The Halloween toes are very cute!

     
    • Jessica

      September 21, 2009 at 6:30 pm

      Thank you!! I desperately wanted to wear flippies to work today so that I could show them off….darn that dress policy:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
