RSS

R.I.P.: Deja Demon

20 Sep

I feel a wee bit guilty including this title in my RIP Challenge completed books list, since I was planning on reading it long before I decided to join the challenge. But since my copy arrived at the library just as the challenge was getting under-way, and it so clearly fit within the reading paramaters, it was as if the RIP reading gods were saying, “Just do it, Jess, just do it!”.

So here are my thoughts on my second completed title for the RIP Challenge 2009, graciously hosted by Carl.

DejaDemon

Deja Demon: The Days and Nights of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom by Julie Kenner
Pub. 2008; 326 pages

Deja Demon is the fourth installment in Julie Kenner’s “Soccer Mom” series.    Here’s a brief synoposis provided by bn.com:

It’s easy to feel like hell when your life’s overrun by teenagers, toddlers, and terror. Just ask housewife and demon hunter Kate Conner.  When the High Demon Goramesh returns to San Diablo with a full-blown army of the undead, it’s up to Kate to save the world. Good thing she can multi-task.

I’ve seen reader reviews that voice the opinion that reading about Kate Conner’s exploits is akin to envisioning Buffy as a middle-aged mother.   Since I’ve never been a Buffy reader, I can’t really vouch for the truth in that statement, but I thought it was quite an endorsement for those who do love Buffy.  I personally enjoy the series simply because of the wonderful characters that Julie Kenner has created.  You can’t help but love Kate and her family and friends.  At times, especially in this fourth portion of the series, I felt that the writing become kind of repetitive  but I still had such an emotional investment in the characters that I hung in there- wanting to know how things turn out.  

Julie Kenner though, is the master of suspenseful endings.  Inevitably, when I reach he end of each of her books, I always immediately want to start the next one, because she’s left things so unfinished.   The next title in the series doesn’t come out until early October though, so I don’t have that option this time around.  I’ll have to find something else to tide me over, I guess:)  *grin* It’s not like I don’t have anything else to read!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2009 in R.I.P. 2009

 

6 responses to “R.I.P.: Deja Demon

  1. JennyMac

    September 20, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I admittedly have not heard of this series…demons might not be my thing but I love new author recs.

     
  2. Jessica

    September 20, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    I’ve heard Julie Kenner’s works categorized as “mommy-lit”, which I found funny, but fitting:) They are light-hearted reads that I find perfect for those days when you want to enjoy something fun, and not really think that much. Lord knows we all have days like that…:)

     
  3. chelle

    September 20, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Girl I am so looking this up. I am a huge Joss Whedon fan, aka creator of Buffy. I am all about light-hearted reads lately. With three kids under 5 one has to be to keep reading!

     
    • Jessica

      September 20, 2009 at 5:52 pm

      Oh good….I hope you enjoy them as much as I have. Here is the order of the titles so far–just to save you a little legwork:
      1. Carpe Demon
      2. California Demon
      3. Demons are Forever
      4. Deja Demon

      Can’t wait to hear what you think!

       
  4. fuzzycricket

    September 21, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    “Good thing she can multi-task.” Bwahahaha! I’ll have to read this series based on that single line, in the context of that passage.

    Good timing on the challenge!

     
    • Jessica

      September 21, 2009 at 6:33 pm

      Glad you enjoyed that little blurb:) When I start to feel overwhelmed by all my work, wife and mommy responsibilities, I just think, “Well, it could be worse. I could be a demon hunter, too.” Always nice to have a little perspective:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
