RSS

And So It Begins….

26 Sep

Today, I became an official soccer mom.  J-Bo and his team, the Tornadoes, had their very first soccer game.   None of the boys have played before, so this truly was their first game.  (You can just imagine how funny that was!!)

Of course, we arrived forty-five minutes early, because I kept having nightmares all last week that we got lost and totally missed the game.  Luckily, there was an empty field and the kids got in some practice time.

BeforeGame

Dad got in on the fun too.  Our jerseys weren’t ready yet, so all the boys just wore grey shirts for the first match.

PracticewithJr

I warned J-Bo to not use all his mad skillz before the game even started, but he had a hard time holding back!PracticeSkillz

 

Then…FINALLY… it’s game time!!!  As I said, none of the boys have played before,  so the first five minutes were spent with the parents yelling, trying to get the kids to understand that the whistle means stop!  The opposing team was a well-oiled machine that has played together in seasons past, but thankfully, they were patient with us.

GameStarts

It was sheer chaos for a bit (especially since the other team had boys named Jaxen and B.J., just as ours did!)  But the Tornadoes hung in there and gave it their all!  Here is Coach Rhonda at half-time, frantically trying to teach the boys that they now needed to kick towards the opposite goal- which actually went much better than I had anticipated:)

WhichWay

Although our team lost, Jaxen did score two goals! WOOT WOOT!!  And here is he lining up for his final goal, which happened to be the last play of the game.  Way to finish it up, J-Bo!!!

AndHeScores

All in all, today’s experience was amazing.  The weather was sunny and beautiful (I’m sure my opinion will change when it’s rainy and/or cold:)).  The camraderie of not only the boys, but the parents, is really fun to be a part of.  But most importantly, I felt an indescribable pride in my boy today.  I remember when I was saying, “Oh, he’ll never start walking”, or, “He’ll never get out of this darn diapers!!”.  And wow…look at him now!

GO TORNADOES!!!

Tornadoes2009FirstGame 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2009 in Tornadoes

 

13 responses to “And So It Begins….

  1. Cyndi

    September 26, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    I love watching my boys play sports. It’s so much fun, especially little guys just starting out like yours. You got some great pics soccer-mom! 🙂

     
  2. Jessica

    September 26, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Thanks!! I’ve always wondered if I would enjoy it when we hit this phase of childhood, since I’m not a sports player. But it turns out that I am a darn good spectator:)

     
  3. Amie Bowen

    September 26, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Just precious! Dont ya love being a soccer mom? Okay so I want to know when the day comes and some other mom royally pisses you off to the point of you wanting to clothes line her…. I have had MANY of those moments. Its all part of the soccer mom experience.LOL

     
  4. Jessica

    September 26, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Amie: Oh, I’m sure that day will come. Today, one of the opposing team members got a little too close to my booga-boo and I had that brief moment when I realized how parents snap, LOL!

     
  5. Amanda

    September 26, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Awww how cute! I used to always love watching little kids play tball…so freakin funny

     
    • Jessica

      September 27, 2009 at 9:33 pm

      I, too, love to watch little ones play T-ball. Especially when they start running the wrong direction! LOL…always good for a laugh!

       
  6. fuzzycricket

    September 27, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Hee, hee. Watching a pack of short-legged critters chasing a ball is all sorts of fun. Have a fantastic season!

     
    • Jessica

      September 27, 2009 at 9:46 pm

      Haha,”short-legged critters”…so cute and so true!

       
  7. Desert Rose

    September 27, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    It’s such a great thing to be able to watch the kids play in sports…and being the crazy parent out there on the bleachers cheering them on! I get really excited. We don’t have many sports available to the kids around here, they just added flag football this year, other than that they only had volleyball and basketball and cheerleading. I went to this same school when I was a kid and they had more back then, no soccer though. Hope you have a great time and your son does a wonderful job playing and having fun!

    Hope you do a post in the future about those tats by the way!

     
    • Jessica

      September 27, 2009 at 9:47 pm

      Rose: Our soccer program isn’t thru school…it’s an outside organization that I contacted since Jaxen was just desperate to play. So far it seems like a worthwhile investment;) I’m trying to sway him in the direction of soccer….I just don’t think my little heart could take him playing football:)

       
  8. chelle

    September 28, 2009 at 11:37 am

    How sweet! It must feel grand to be a soccer mom!

     
    • Jessica

      September 28, 2009 at 9:12 pm

      It does, it does:)

       
  9. 2kids3martinis

    October 3, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    Welcome to the club! : )

     

Leave a Reply

 
