RSS

Home is Where the Heart Is

10 Oct

I’m not a big movie watcher.  We never go to the theatre.  For one, it costs too much, and secondly, if we’re getting out of the house, it’s really the last thing I think of to go do.  Many of my friends are avid movie-goers and are always asking if I’ve seen such and such.  Inevitably, I reply, “No, but I may buy it when it comes out on DVD”.   I usually know what I’m going to like and whether or not I’m ever going to want to re-watch it, so for the price of $20 or so, I can just automatically purchase it, and save the $30 or so more dollars it would have cost for us to go to the theatre.  (We can’t go to the theatre and NOT get snacks!! :))  Movies also make great wishlist items for Christmas as well…since they aren’t something I usually buy for myself.   I’m a member of Netflix, but we’ve had the same two movies sitting on our entertainment center for probably three months now….just haven’t taken the time to watch them.  I have a hard time sitting still long enough to see an entire movie—which is odd considering I will lay down and read for hours on end, LOL.  I guess we all have our vices:)  All that being said… I was thinking today about what is that one thing that makes me watch certain movies over and over and over…yet never give new ones a chance. 

Here are the four movies that immediately spring to my mind when I think of watching a movie:

1.  The Family Stone

2.  Father of the Bride (Parts I and II)

3.  You’ve Got Mail

4.  Under the Tuscan Sun

When I really thought about what tied these movies together, I came up with one, very important common denominator:  they all  feature prominently homes that I would love to call my own. 

 The Family Stone takes place in an amazing white Victorian home set in the country.  You can just feel the warmth and love exuding from the house, and the close knit family as well.  The fact that this movie is centered around the Christmas holiday certainly doesn’t hurt:)

Father of the Bride (I and II) also take place in a stunning, two story house, and the house is even central the plot of the second movie.  The house is not just  a backdrop…it IS the movie.

You’ve Got Mail – who hasn’t lusted after living in Meg Ryan’s NYC brownstone??  (And I’m not even going to bring up her bookstore.  Oh. My. God. Her. Bookstore!!)

And last, but most certainly not least, Bramasole in Under the Tuscan Sun.  An Italian villa in the Tuscan countryside.  Although I adore this movie, the house was just about the only thing in the movie that was true to the book. 

Apparently, I have house-lust issues that I need to deal with:)  Am I the only person who has this problem? That apparently subconsciously gravitates towards movies based on how much you like the houses featured in them?

 

12 responses to “Home is Where the Heart Is

  1. kristy hall

    October 10, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    lol that is too funny. Not one of those movies would be a first choice for me though i do love every one of them! and now that you bring up the houses i think i like them even more. haha I am one of those avid movie goer friends. I LOVE going to the movies! I also dont think I could ever choice a favorite. I gravitate towards movies depending on my mood. Some days i will watch Disney classics over and over and over (little mermaid, beauty and the beast and the lion king are my faves!) some days I want to watch nothing but musicals (Rent being first and sometimes more then once in a row =)) And somedays I am in a sappy mood and watch things like beaches, steel magnolias, a walk to remember, etc. I could go on and on and on. I think the only catagory i rarely if ever throw in there is scary movies. I save scary for Halloween and that is only once a year. =) Anyway didnt mean to write a blog for a comment but you got me thinking of movies. speaking of i am fixing to go watch one. lol

     
    • Jessica

      October 11, 2009 at 12:56 pm

      Yes, you guys are definitely movie people. The ones I listed certainly aren’t my ONLY favorite movies, just the first ones that usually pop in my mind when I think of watching something. What did you watch yesterday?

       
  2. Cyndi

    October 10, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    That is funny, and now that you mention it I do like these movies (Under the Tuscan Sun is my favorite of these 4). And, I do love all the houses too but have never thought of that. I have thought of Meg’s bookstore though! However, none of them would even make my top10 list. I love movies and don’t stick to any particular genre either.

    You know what else they all have in common? Love stories. These are all classic happily-ever-after-found-my-soul-mate types of movies. Just sayin. 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      October 11, 2009 at 12:57 pm

      Cyndi: yes, yes, you are right, as always. I do tend to lean towards romantic comedies when it comes to re-watching, but there are others I love as well. The Italian Job, Gone in 60 Seconds, the Bourne movies–I like a good adventure. I also watch The Santa Clause movies all year round, I really do love the holidays:)

       
      • Cyndi

        October 11, 2009 at 1:01 pm

        Me too! Home For The Holidays is my personal favorite that I’ll watch anytime. I am so drawn to dysfunction it’s scary. 🙂

        My favorite romantic comedy has to be When Harry Met Sally. You can’t beat a good romantic comedy for a pick me up.

         
      • Jessica

        October 11, 2009 at 7:20 pm

        LOl…WHMS is in my top five list of all time. LOVE LOVE LOVE that movie!! “I’ll have what SHE’S having!”

         
  3. Amanda

    October 10, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    The only time I go to the movies is to take Rhiannon to see a movie….and I never buy dvd’s for anyone but her either…spoiled ass kid. The only time I watch movies is when they are either on tv or pay per view lol.

     
    • Jessica

      October 11, 2009 at 12:58 pm

      I tend to buy movies at the library sales that I go to. Norman has one at the end of October (right around the corner…woot woot!!) and OKC has a big one in February. I get a lot of movies, especially Disney and kids movies, for only $1. It’s too good of a deal to pass up! As for spoiling kids….isn’t that what we’re best at?? LOL

       
  4. chelle

    October 11, 2009 at 9:19 am

    You are not alone in your house lust! OH MY a bookstore would be AMAZING>

     
    • Jessica

      October 11, 2009 at 1:00 pm

      Chelle, so glad it’s not just me:) And yes, it’s always been a dream of mine to own a bookstore, and Meg Ryan’s Shop Around the Corner in You’ve Got Mail is absolute perfection!

       
  5. fuzzycricket

    October 11, 2009 at 11:33 am

    What an interesting connection, the homes.

    We do the same thing with movies. Buy them when it comes on DVD. Not only is it cheaper, but the hubby just doesn’t fit in the seats; his knees come up to his chin. Okay, it’s not quite that bad, but his long legs just don’t fold well enough for theatre-watching to be comfortable. I’d much rather lounge in a comfy couch in my pajamas with snacks.

     
    • Jessica

      October 11, 2009 at 1:01 pm

      Although I certainly don’t have the long leg problem, lol, I totally understand preferring to watch on the couch in pj’s. Theatre seats just are not comfortable- no matter how nice the place is!

       

Leave a Reply

 
