RSS

And the holidays are here!

28 Nov

It’s finally here…my favorite time of year!  I consider the holidays my personal Xanax, serotonin release, mood enhancer–whatever you want to call it.   In honor of the holiday season arrival (regardless of what the weather seems to think-it’s awfully sunny & warm for November!), I thought I would compile a list of my past and present random thoughts about the most wonderful time of the year!

1.  Lights– Nothing makes me happier than twinkle lights (as anyone could tell by looking at my wedding photos:))

2.  Snowmen- I surround myself with snowmen, which I collect throughout the year to ensure that I have them in every room.  Blankets, candle holders, doorknob decorations, wineglasses, pillowcases–I love it all.  I believe my fascination with snowmen began when I was a mere tot, and listened to my vinyl of Frosty the Snowman 365 days a year (much to the chagrin of my father, I am sure) on my Fisher Price record player.  Along with Frosty, it had a gem of a tune that went like this- “Santa’s stuck in the elevator, can we get him out on time??”, a little ditty dedicated to kids who always asked the question, “What does Santa do if we live in an apartment building and there are no fireplaces?”.  Although I couldn’t relate to the apartment predicament, we did not have a fireplace, so I often wondered if Santa came through our floor furnaces, LOL! 

3. Music- Holiday music holds a special place in my heart, and probably began with that fated Frosty record mentioned above:)  My favorite albums that I’ve accumulated over the year stend lean towards contemporary recordings of class holiday songs, such as SheDaisy’s Brand New Year, Clay Aiken’s Merry Christmas with Love (I don’t care what anyone says about him- that boy can sing O Holy Night like nobody’s business!), Martina McBride’s White Christmas, Sarah McLachlan’s WinterSong.  These are probably the albums  I listen to most throughout the season.  I purchase a new one every year as a treat to myself- I think this year’s purchase will be Green & Gold by Sugarland. 

4. Childhood- Christmas as a parent has fully made me appreciate my holiday experiences as a child even more.  The holidays were magical in my house.  I fully admit that I was a spoiled rotten child.  I vividly remember gifts that I received throughout the years- an awesome little table with chairs that I used in my room for games for many, many years; the Smurfs board game; a wicker peacock chair; Cabbage Patch Kid roller skates; pink sweatshirt with hand-painted unicorn which nicely complimented my unicorn collection; a bed tent (does anyone else remember those? They were amazing! I want to get some for the kids, but can’t find any nice ones.)  But even more importantly than the fantastic gifts, the traditions we had were what I really treasure.  The Christmas Eve & Christmas Day dinners with family. I was always so excited to spend time with all my cousins.  My mom would make the most delicious Christmas treats, such as homemade Chex Mix (which I still look forward to as an adult:)), almond bark covered pretzels, green cornflake holly clusters, peanut brittle…I could go on and on.  I am trying desperately to create these same kind of memories for my children.  I think Christmas is even MORE fun as a parent, getting to see the beauty of the season through your children’s eyes. 

5.  Family time– Every year, OKC has what they call “Downtown in December”, where our downtown area is full of wonderful family events for the entire month.  Last night we kicked off the season by going to see the downtown tree lighting, and then taking a water taxi ride down the Bricktown Canals.  An absolutely wonderful way to spend an evening and see all the downtown lights & decorations. I hope to make it an annual affair.  Other fun events offered include snow tubing, ice skating, touring the lights of the Myriad Gardens and holiday river cruises.  Most events are free on Sundays, so I plan on fully taking advantage of them this year. 

I could go on and on and on regarding all the things I love about this special time of year:)  But I’m more interested in hearing what YOUR favorite things are!!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2009 in Christmas 2009

 

13 responses to “And the holidays are here!

  1. chelle

    November 28, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Creating new traditions with my family 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      November 29, 2009 at 1:49 pm

      I agree 100%, Chelle!! I hope you and yours have a wonderful holiday season!

       
  2. shortmama

    November 28, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    I couldnt agree more that Christmas is even more fun as a parent. I could care less if I receive anything, I would much rather watch my kids open their gifts. I love baking tons of cookies with them, watching Christmas movies, playing Alvin and the Chipmunks Christmas (oh yeah you read that right)…I love it all! I wanted my Christmas stuff out today but we had to throw our tree away last year because it got ruined when our shed got flooded and I havent bought a new one yet. Trying to figure out if I should just get a tabletop one this year because my youngest is into EVERYTHING and will not leave the tree alone!

     
    • Jessica

      November 29, 2009 at 1:48 pm

      I KNEW we were kindred spirits! I, too, adore Alvin & The Chipmunks, and we sing along to their Christmas album with gusto! Did you see that Alvin & The Chipmunks: The Squeakqual is coming out December 23rd?? I’m SOOOO excited:) I’m so sorry to hear about your tree;( I think you should still get a full sized one, a tabletop to me just doesn’t fully give the holiday the spotlight it deserves, LOL. My parents had that problem with my little sis as a baby, and they built a fence to go around it. Kept her out…and the pets! We threw away our fake tree a few years ago. It was a hand-me-down, and was pretty old & dilapidated. Ii love live trees, so now we go get one every year. The smell is unbelievable!

       
      • shortmama

        November 29, 2009 at 2:09 pm

        I did see the Chipmunks movie coming out and cant wait!! Rhiannon and I loved the first one! Christmas just isnt Christmas without the Chipmunks Christmas…I had the tape when I was a kid and bought the CD when I had Rhiannon!

        I want a real tree this year too…we will have to see what we can do if we can keep the munchkin out of it.

         
  3. Jenny

    November 29, 2009 at 11:17 am

    It’s so nice to see someone else is as excited about Christmas as I am! My family’s official ban on buying things for ourselves has just descended, which is exciting because it means from this moment forward, I can get Christmas gifts without worrying.

    One of the nicest things about Christmas for me is on Christmas Eve – my sisters and I all go over to my parents’ house Christmas Eve, and we make and decorate our Christmas cookies. And then afterwards we all go sit in the living room with only the Christmas tree lights on, and we sing Christmas carols. Some people I have told this to find it nauseatingly Hallmarky, but it’s something I always look forward to.

     
    • Jessica

      November 29, 2009 at 1:44 pm

      Jenny…I love the sound of that tradition. That Christmas Even sounds heavenly to me!! It combines all my favorites in one sitting–cookies, carols, singing & lights! Merry Christmas (albeit a wee bit early) to you and your family. I hope you have a magical holiday season this year!

       
  4. kristy hall

    November 29, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    lights are one of my favorites as well! We always go look at lights. we drive around, we go to chickasha, we go with mom and Greg as well. Lights make the season. =) We put up a christmas tree this year. I know it is awful but this is the first year Darren and I have ever put one up together. We have always had a new baby around Christmas time. Daven of course is already pulling everything off so one more year would have been nice to wait but Dalten needed a tree. =) I am just moving them to the top half as he takes them off. lol Anyway i love pretty much everything about the season. Lights, music, time with family, figuring out that perfect gift you know someone will love. its all wonderful!

     
    • Jessica

      November 30, 2009 at 7:31 am

      Kris, have you guys been to view the lights in Yukon, right off I-40? They are wonderful. Those are the ones we always go hit up.

      I can’t believe you guys have never had a tree- I had no idea, LOL! This year should be double special for you then:)

       
      • kristy hall

        November 30, 2009 at 8:15 pm

        i know, i am surprised as well but we either didnt have the money or just didnt want to spend it. lol But it is already becoming a pain in the bumm! i need a gate like yours. =)

         
  5. 2kids...3martinis

    November 29, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    So glad this time of year has a mood-lifting effect for you. I love lights too. Can’t wait to get them all up.

    My favorite thing, you ask? That would be spending our holiday the way WE WANT TO without the rush, rush, rush on Christmas Eve/Day that we had when in Indiana due the the pressure of family (namely, THE MAN’S MOTHER)–so, I say: SUCK IT, NANA!!

    Thanks for allowing me this outlet for my aggression. Once again, you ROCK! 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      November 30, 2009 at 7:33 am

      HAHAHAHAHAHA! I hope Nana doesn’t stumble into my little slice of the internet, lol:) I’m glad you were able to get that off your chest—that’s what the OB is for. We worked out a solution to that problem a few years ago. We travel to my hometown and spend the weekend before Christmas there, so that we can actually enjoy Christmas Day at home, and then the afternoon at my in-laws (who live here). I’m glad you can now do exactly what YOU want for the holidays!

       

Leave a Reply

 
