RSS

In a Bookish Mood

30 Nov

While I’m on a roll extolling the virtues of the holiday season, I thought I would take a moment to talk about another thing that always makes me happy about this time of year.  The books.  The sudden overflow of book releases.  If  you’re an author, the months  of October to December are solid gold for drop dates.   Strict on sale dates for new releases are on Tuesdays usually, and I can only imagine how an author feels if their new title is slated to debut on the week of Black Friday:)  From the other side of the spectrum, as a reader, the onslaught of bookish goodness is almost too much to resist!!  Going to the bookstore to purchase a gift for a family member or friend often turns into a battle of wills with my internal self.  Thank goodness for the library!!  

Here is a small sampling of the new, and soon to be released titles that I’m really looking forward to reading.  I’m hoping to get myself back on track with book reviews on the OB.  It’s such a vicious catch-22….if I’m reading, I don’t have time to write:)

1.  Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert
2.  Cleaving by Julie Powell
3.  Bed of Roses by Nora Roberts
4.  The Unnamed by Joshua Ferris
5.  Fired Up by Jayne Castle
6.  The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
7.  Kindred in Death and Fantasy in Death by J.D. Robb
8.  Wishing & Hopin’ by Wally Lamb

What about you? Are there any books that you’re just aching to read?  Or maybe hoping that Santa will drop into your stocking?

 

16 responses to “In a Bookish Mood

  1. Desert Rose

    November 30, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Oh great…you know what I’m gonna have to go and do now?!!!!! I’m gonna have to go to the Barnes & Noble website!…and lose some money! Specifically gonna have to check out the new one by Wally Lamb…thanks for the info!

     
  2. Desert Rose

    November 30, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Ooh, I went and looked it up..my name’s in there! Lol It’s a rare find..and it excites me so!

     
  3. Jessica

    November 30, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Glad I could help, Rose!! I love me some Wally Lamb too. Although I fully admit that I didn’t have the strength to read his book about Columbine. I was afraid it would be just way too sad!

     
  4. Cyndi

    December 1, 2009 at 6:34 am

    #1 for SURE!!

     
    • Jessica

      December 1, 2009 at 6:48 pm

      I can’t even put into words how excited I am about Committed, Cyndi. I can’t believe we have to wait till January! ARGH!

       
      • Cyndi

        December 1, 2009 at 6:53 pm

        I know!!

         
  5. shortmama

    December 1, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Im just trying to find the time to get wrapped up in a book right now!

     
    • Jessica

      December 1, 2009 at 6:48 pm

      I use reading as an escape mechanism, LOL….when my kids and hubby are driving me batty, I dive into another world:)

       
  6. fuzzycricket

    December 1, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    I really enjoyed BED OF ROSES. It was sweet and fluffy, just what I was in the mood for, even if it did make me cry. I wish I had girl friends that cool.

    KINDRED IN DEATH…it was sooooo good to get back to Eve and Roarke. I love this world, grisly as it is. There was a really nice scene in interrogation. Can’t wait for FANTASY IN DEATH.

    Me? I’m looking forward to Jacqueline Carey’s new book. Her books are intense, gritty, fantastical, scary, passionate and long. Sinking back into Terre D’Ange is easy and relaxing and for me.

    Enjoy your reading!

     
    • Jessica

      December 1, 2009 at 6:53 pm

      If Roarke was an actual living, breathing person, well–suffice to say my life would be a lot different, hehe. I’m behind on reading KINDRED…. I’m usually the first in line when they are released.

      Also, I’m surprised I haven’t bought Bed of Roses yet either. I chalk that up to insanely strong willpower:)

      I saw Jacqueline Carey’s titles at the library the other day and thought of you. You’ve never steered me wrong–which title should I start with??

       
      • fuzzycricket

        December 1, 2009 at 9:06 pm

        Jess – Kushiel’s Dart is the first one. There is some seriously adult material in these books, both sensual and violent. But the context adds so much to the characters and situations. It is not a light read. But I’m hooked!

         
  7. 2kids...3martinis

    December 1, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Wow. You really ARE a bookwhore, aren’t you? 🙂

    I’m just hoping to start Twilight soon because all the other moms I know have read it and so, you know, I gotta keep up with my peers and such.

    I just finished Kathy Griffin’s book, “Official Book Club Selection”. It was entertaining, but I feel the need now to read something like Crime and Punishment now just to make things balance out.

    Hope Santa brings you good stuff for Christmas…like an unlimited gift card to Borders or something? 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      December 1, 2009 at 6:57 pm

      Why yes, yes, I am. And I consider that to be the highest form of a compliment. Thank you:) Did I mention that I worked at Barnes and Noble and B.Dalton for seven years. I am a bookwhore of the worst variety–one who desperately misses her employee discount!

      I’ve read all the Twilight books. They’re certainly no Harry Potter (lol), but they are enjoyable. Just don’t give up when Bella whines for the first 50 pages of the first book. Hang in there….and just slap her silly in your head;)

      As for Kathy Griffin— there’s no need to EVER feel guilty for your reads–hey, at least your reading! That’s gotta be edumactional, right? Confession: I have Chelsea Handler on my TBR list:)

       
      • 2kids...3martinis

        December 2, 2009 at 9:40 pm

        Thanks for the tips, Jess–I’ll keep them in mind when reading Twilight! 🙂

        Confession and brag-a-dociousness of the day: My neighbor calls me “the Chelsea Handler of the Suburbs”…so don’t feel like it’s a bad thing…(hehehe) 🙂

         
  8. chelle

    December 1, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    I am reading Dan Brown at the moment and can hardly wait till the latest Stephen King is in paperback!!!

     
    • Jessica

      December 2, 2009 at 1:43 pm

      I have the Dan Brown book coming for Christmas. I can’t wait to read it!! I hope you’re enjoying it–and enjoy your Stephen King book. Although I’m not a fan of his fiction, I do love his nonfiction book “On Writing.” It’s wonderful.

       

Leave a Reply

 
