RSS

My Overflowing Bookshelf(ves)

07 Dec

I was discussing with my dear bloggy friend,  Miss Fuzzy Cricket, about the new library that her family is currently planning on setting up in their home.  (You can read about it here and check out her beautiful site while you’re visitng.  WARNING: It’s addictive!!).  As I read of her plans, I could feel myself turning all sorts of shades of green.  Oh, how I long for a library. My very own special place that I could make just how I wanted it.  My library would contain not only all my beloved books, but an overstuffed, amazingly comfortable chair, perfect for reading AND dozing in.  There must be a few, big enough for me to curl up with my babies in.  Wall sconces with softly flickering candles, beautiful lamps perfectly placed for providing ideal reading lighting, large windows for lots of natural light as well.   A chest full of soft blankets for cuddling.   Framed photos of my loved ones on the walls, and side tables perfect for resting that requisite cup of coffee.  In my head, it looks a lot like this:

I love this unique  bookshelf….although I would need about ten of them to fit all my books:)  Or maybe this…..

I love the idea of color coding books- it’s so aesthetically pleasing. What a neat rainbow effect!  Or I could go this route…

The green curtain really speaks to me.

But in reality, this is what I’m dealing with at the moment:

Exhibit A resides in our back room, which is currently serving as  storage facility.   Such a waste of space.

Exhibit B is also in the back room.  **Note: I did not rearrange the shelves in any way so that you could get the full effect of the disheveledness (is that a word??).  Don’t you love how “Why Do Men Have Nipples?” just jumps right out at ya??**

 

Exhibit C- this bookshelf is in my bedroom and is currently being utilized as a storage facility for everything under the sun, as you can tell.

 

And Exhibits D and E–the heirloom telephone desk that sits in my bedroom that is piled with my most recent library sale finds, and the sack piled high with books recently passed to me by my mother.

This is Exhibit F- the one that makes me cry inside.  This cabinet in our garage contains twelve boxes of books, jammed packed with titles that haven’t seen the light of day since we bought our house 5 years ago. *sniff* It’s just not right, I tell ya.

And in closing, Exhibit G- my daughter’s bookshelf.  What can I say–she’s a bookwhore in the making:)   I assumed that you were getting an understanding of my lack-of-library predicament, and didn’t even venture into the depths of my son’s room for a photo.

I’m sure  it’s pretty clear now as to why I titled this blog Overflowing Bookshelf.  My house, as evidenced by Exhibits A-G, is one, great big overflowing bookshelf.  I really must stop blogging and work on this problem.  Unless, of course, Fuzzy Cricket will just let me share her library:)  And for those who are like me and lust after the thought of having your own home library, be sure and check out Yourshelves.com, which features reader submitted photos of home libraries throughout the world.  It’s a fascinating site that fulfills the voyeuristic side in all of us–  Enjoy!

 
21 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2009 in Books, Books read, Bookshelves, Home library

 

21 responses to “My Overflowing Bookshelf(ves)

  1. Cyndi

    December 8, 2009 at 6:22 am

    This is my dream. I finally got a few decent sized bookshelves last year and currently have my books stored and displayed in a library-esque way in our living room. I love the way it looks. You’ve got to love Ikea!

    Having said that….a room. I have been promised one JUST LIKE the one you described. It will be in our currently STILL unfinished basement and will contain ALL of the things you mentioned that you want in your library. *sigh* Someday… 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      December 8, 2009 at 8:33 pm

      Ahhh…Ikea. Hasn’t hit the big OK yet, LOl, at least that I know of. I bet your living room looks beautiful!

       
  2. Jenny

    December 8, 2009 at 7:53 am

    I love the pictures you’ve posted of people’s beautifully organized bookshelves. Oh would that I could emulate their fine example. I swear to God, one of these days. (I do particularly love the idea of organizing by color, except I know if I did that, I’d never find a book ever again.)

     
    • Jessica

      December 8, 2009 at 8:34 pm

      Jenny, I thought the same thing. I remember by author, so I would be much better off with alphabetical arrangement. I blame it on all the years as a Barnes & Noble bookseller.

       
  3. Judson

    December 8, 2009 at 9:44 am

    I like the one with the curtain. I learned from my mom, you hang something pretty over the front of the bookshelf and no one knows whether it looks good under there or not.

     
    • Jessica

      December 8, 2009 at 8:35 pm

      You are so right, Judson…. a curtain covers a multitude of sins. Although I love the look of books, messy or not, and also love to display my favorite items right alongside the books. I’ll probably opt to keep them visible–whenever that day may come!

       
  4. fuzzycricket

    December 8, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Fun ideas! I’ve decided I must have a ladder. And a big map I can put pushpins in. I need a side table to rest my mug of cocoa, too. It’s going to take a long time, getting this library thing pulled together.

     
    • Jessica

      December 8, 2009 at 8:41 pm

      Ohh…..I love the ladder idea- and the map!

       
  5. Desert Rose

    December 8, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Funny the things we dream of…I’ve always wanted a library in the house too. Have you ever seen those houses that have those round, octagonal type rooms on the top of the house? That is so what I want for my library. Complete with tall bookshelves and one of those sliding wooden ladders to reach into the oblivion on the top shelves. The most comfy chairs and couches you can find, complete with soft throw blankets and feather pillows.

    But in reality, I’ve a couple of bookshelves that are filled with books, and all the other books get donated to our little library here in town.

     
    • Jessica

      December 8, 2009 at 8:42 pm

      Rose- YES! You are seeing my vision exactly! And I think you are referring to a turret, which I’ve always loved too. I forgot to mention that I also desire a window seat. *ahhh* Wouldn’t that be heavenly??

       
  6. kristy hall

    December 8, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    The funny thing is the nipple book is the first title i saw. lol then i saw your comment, Jess. too funny! and yes, you of all people should DEFINITELY have your own library!!

     
    • Jessica

      December 8, 2009 at 8:43 pm

      I agree, Kris, I do DESERVE a library:) I’ve spent too many years with my books in storage! But then, it will be like Christmas when I finally get to get them all out. There’s just no telling what all is in there!

       
  7. shortmama

    December 8, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I want my library to have a secret door to get in there. Where it can be just my little escape so no one else knows how to get in…..I can just shut the door and get lost in books! A huge fluffy chair I can curl up on….mmmmm I can see it now

     
    • Jessica

      December 8, 2009 at 8:44 pm

      Oh….. secret door! That’s a grand idea! Wouldn’t it be totally awesome to be able to escape any time you wanted? That is SO going on my list of features for our next house.

       
  8. Xazmin

    December 8, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    So…why DO men have nipples?

    I have always fantasized about one of those big, old fashioned libraries with floor to ceiling shelves on all 4 walls. The kind you have to have the rolling ladder to reach the top shelves!

    My house is much the same, books spilling out of every corner!

     
    • Jessica

      December 8, 2009 at 8:45 pm

      Xazmin–LOL, unfortunately, I can shed no light as to why men have nipples:) I bought that for my husband, in the hopes that it would get him to read. I think he flipped through it once or twice, but he never did let me know the answer to the cover question. I’ll be sure and let you know once I read it to see!

       
  9. 2kids...3martinis

    December 11, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    My fave is the photo of the library space with the green curtain. Love it!
    Hope the new year will bring you inspiration for your ideal library at home! You deserve it! 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      December 13, 2009 at 10:40 am

      I think that’s my favorite too, Kathy. Doesn’t it look peaceful and serene! You’re right! I DO deserve it, and I need to get my butt in gear in obtaining my dream!! There are some home improvement issues that have been delaying me moving further with any ideas that I have, but I talked to my FIL last night, and I think after Christmas, he is going to come over and help us so that I can move forward. WOOT WOOT! I’ve got my fingers crossed…and my books ready….

       
  10. chelle

    December 12, 2009 at 9:02 am

    I too dream of built in bookshelves in our living room with lovely lighting and comfy reading chairs.

    If you want it, save for it and make it happen!
    I am off to snoop at the links you shared!

     
    • Jessica

      December 13, 2009 at 10:41 am

      Chelle: I meant to go back and fix one of the links I put in….. it should be http://www.yourshelves.com. I am not sure I ever did fix it. It’s a wonderful site, I hope you enjoy it!

       
  11. Tara

    December 17, 2009 at 11:18 am

    I love these photos! Thanks for stopping by Books and Cooks and for your kind words. I can commiserate with your trip to the dentist. My daughter had laughing gas last week – what a ride that was!

     

Leave a Reply

 
