RSS

The Trooper

14 Dec

Jalyn fell three years ago, face first onto the concrete floors at Home Depot, and broke off half of one of her front teeth.  One partial and one root canal later, we were hopeful that this tooth would survive until it fell out naturally on its own.  Until she developed a sore on the gumline above her injured tooth about a week ago.  We kept an eye on it, but this weekend it seemed to worsen.  My sister-in-law is a dental hygienist, and on her urging, we frantically made an appointment to the dentist this morning.

It turns out that the sore was an infection that did relate to the previously injured tooth.  Apparently, the root canal and nerve work they did three years ago is only effective for so long, and some infection had started to grow again around the nerves.

Sis was an amazing trooper—she didn’t cry one time!  In fact, she just got really, really giggly- it’s definitely called “laughing gas” for a reason!

Even when the dentist started digging around, she was perfectly still.

Next came the numbing agent….followed by a big needle and lasering off of the infected spot.  (The dentist instructed me to turn away at this point, so no photos to document that process.  Probably for the best:))  After surviving the procedure, Sis was ready to go get her milkshake and rest.  She was dizzy and her stomach hurt from the nitrous oxide.  Suddenly, she wasn’t giggling and things didn’t seem so funny.  Her exact words: “Mom, I don’t like going to the dentist anymore.” 😦

So this is how we spent the rest of the afternoon.

And apparently, my head is a pillow. Who knew??  Whatever it takes to make my baby feel better.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2009 in Jalyn, Sister Bear, Sleeping

 

18 responses to “The Trooper

  1. fuzzycricket

    December 14, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Dental work is an ordeal even when we get older. Trooper, indeed! I don’t think I would have been that brave. I got a kick out of the giggly photo. And the head-as-pillow. You’re a good mom. Very dedicated to your work. 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      December 14, 2009 at 10:20 pm

      Why thank you very much:) I do take my job very seriously. (I still giggle looking at the giggle photo as well. I’m probably going to revisit it often when I need a smile:))

       
  2. shortmama

    December 14, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    It makes me giggle just thinking of her giggling!! My daughter has a dentist appointment next week (I think!) and Im wondering if they are going to pull one of her baby teeth because they want to give more room in her crowded little mouth for her grown up teeth coming in.

     
    • Jessica

      December 14, 2009 at 10:21 pm

      Amanda: Best wishes to you next week. We’ve definitely been through our fair share of dental work (both kids had oral surgery under the age of 4 *sigh*), so I can definitely emphathize with what you’ll be going through. I think it’s so much harder on the parents than the kids:)

       
      • shortmama

        December 14, 2009 at 10:22 pm

        Hey when you have a minute email me your mailing address…I have a Christmas card I would like to send you

         
  3. Jenny

    December 15, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Aw, poor kid! Hope she feels better soon.

     
    • Jessica

      December 15, 2009 at 12:45 pm

      Thanks, Jenny!! She was, in fact, much better this morning. Either that, or she was bored and was desperate to return to school rather than spend another day with mom:)

       
  4. Desert Rose

    December 15, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Oh man, that giggly picture is great! I remember getting that stuff when I had my wisdom teeth removed. I think I had the same experience as your little giggly girl! Laugh when you get the meds, and then wake up not liking going to the dentist. Only I’m sure mine was a little more along the lines of da#^ dentist!

    You must be a heavy sleeper! I don’t think I coulda stayed sleeping if my kids used me as a pillow! Too funny/cute!

     
    • Jessica

      December 15, 2009 at 12:47 pm

      The last time I had laughing gas, I remember vividly thinking, ‘Oh…. my male dental hygienist looks JUST like Josh Lucas from Sweet Home Alabama….hm….but maybe I shouldn’t tell him that!”

      I had just enough presence of mind to know that it probably wasn’t a good idea to profess his cuteness:)

       
  5. Cyndi

    December 15, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Awww….poor thing! I’m glad it didn’t turn into anything more serious and that all is well now.

     
    • Jessica

      December 17, 2009 at 6:42 pm

      Me too, Cyndi, me too! And I hate to say it…but I sure am ready for that tooth to fall out. It’s been all kinds of tooth/heartache for us:)

       
  6. chelle

    December 17, 2009 at 11:34 am

    awww poor poor girl! Hope she is totally feeling better!

     
    • Jessica

      December 17, 2009 at 6:44 pm

      Thank you, Chelle…she’s doing worlds better. Like she never felt bad to begin with:) Those kids are certainly resilient!

       
  7. Lusty Reader

    December 17, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    seriously what a trooper! i had to get 4 baby teeth pulled bc of overcrowding and they weren’t coming out on their own. even though i got a barbie (!) for each tooth i hated going to the dentist after that. and your little one is SUCH a trooper for such a scarey situation and lucky to have you to take care of her!

     
    • Jessica

      December 17, 2009 at 6:44 pm

      Four Barbies!??? Wow! You must have had a sugar-daddy tooth fairy;)

       
      • Lusty Reader

        December 18, 2009 at 8:37 am

        oh they were complete bribes just to go to the dentist! not even from the tooth fairy. the first time we went to get the first tooth pulled i was a huuuge brat and cried and screamed and wouldn’t let them give me the novacaine shot. we were there an hour and had to leave without anything being done, everyone was arguing with me, but i won. i was pure awfulness. even though i was 6 i remember this in complete clarity.

        but the promise of a barbie per tooth made my comply.

         
  8. fuzzycricket

    December 24, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Jess – Just a quick Christmas with for you and your family! I wish you squeals of excitement and moments of awe. I wish you light. And love.

    With all my heart.

     
  9. 2kids...3martinis

    January 1, 2010 at 12:48 am

    Oh my goodness! What a brave, sweet little thing she is! I’d have been waaaaay to chicken to sit there and have all that done to my mouth!!
    And, I must say, what a sweet momma you are. Loved that last photo. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
