RSS

Things I Learned from Christmas 2009

30 Dec

1.  When making your last run to the store for gifts a few days before the big holiday, DO buy the oversized stuffed Yoda for your son.  It will inevitably be his favorite.present.ever.  Even more so than the scooter, the Star Wars legos, or the Goosebumps movie he just haaaad to have.  He will put Yoda’s robe on his head and wear Yoda on his back.  He will take off Yoda’s robe and wear it himself.  He will carry Yoda in front of him and try to convince you that it is Yoda speaking.  Gift best it will be.

2.  Practical gifts ARE the biggest hits.  Even though you may feel guilty for not buying an exorbitant amount of toys (which will just end up in pieces scattered all over the house anyway), you’ll feel better when your daughter wears her new polka-dot robe for days on end.  When she puts on her hot pink Snuggie  under it as well, along with her new fuzzy slipper socks, you’ll know it was a success.

3.  Flat screen tv + Wii + OU Snuggie = Happy Husband.

4.  If the weatherman says three days before Christmas that you will have a “light dusting of snow”, and then changes it to “5-10 inches”, you should probably listen.  Although Oklahoma weathermen tend to cry wolf a lot, around the holidays is a time when you should probably take their words to heart.  And when the term “blizzard” is used— please go buy some milk before it hits, or you’ll have an unhappy daughter when you are snowed in and don’t want to dig your way out to get to the store.  And PLEASE use the restroom before beginning your drive home from work, cause you just never know when a seven mile trip will take three hours.

5.  If you get sick on Christmas, it will suck.  You will send your husband & kids to the in-laws to celebrate the holiday, but you will sleep on and off all day, and cry when you are awake.  Spend Christmas Day alone….and you’ll have a whole new respect for those who have to do it on a yearly basis. 

That being said- I hope each and everyone of you have had a Merry Merry Christmas.  I’m personally looking forward to 2010- hoping to lose some bad habits and gain some new good ones.  Laugh a little more.  Teach the kids to ride their new bikes.  Read lots of great books.   Expand my cooking repertoire.  Enjoy watching the kids play soccer.  And most importantly– love with all that I have.  There truly is no day but today. 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2009 in Christmas 2009

 

13 responses to “Things I Learned from Christmas 2009

  1. fuzzycricket

    December 30, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Sounds like you had a rough Christmas for yourself, but that you made it a special holiday for your family. Nicely done! Hope you are feeling better. You realize we must now see photos of Yoda and Pink Snuggie! 😉

     
    • Jessica

      December 31, 2009 at 2:50 pm

      Yes, it definitely wasn’t MY personal best, LOL, but at least the kids & hubs had a great one. That’s what matters anyway:) I didn’t take too many pictures (boo!) since I didn’t feel well, but I did get some of Yoda. I’ll try to post soon– they are classic Jaxen:)

       
  2. kristy hall

    December 30, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    wow jess, i sure hope you got as spoiled as the rest of your gang. =) If not Jr better step it up next year. =) Glad you had a great Christmas!

     
    • Jessica

      December 31, 2009 at 2:52 pm

      LOL, Kris…yes, went a weeeeee bit overboard, and didn’t realize it till it was all wrapped. Next year I MUST find a way to wrap as I purchase. As you know, that’s really hard to do with kids underfoot (unless you want to stay up all night doing it- which I ended up doing on Christmas Eve anyways:)). New system definitely needs to be implemented. Can we say “spoiled rotten”???!! 🙂 I explained to the kids though that they are VERY lucky to be so blessed, that there are many who are not, so hopefully they understood.

       
  3. Heather

    December 30, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    I hate that you were sick and alone on Christmas. You know if I had been in town, I would have come and taken care of you all day! You know that, right?!?

    I can’t wait to meet Yoda and get a fashion show from my sweet goddaughter (can’t remember if you use the kid’s names in you blog).

    Seems like you learned some valuable things……I’ve taken notes!

     
    • Jessica

      December 31, 2009 at 2:54 pm

      Ahhh….I know, girl, and thanks so much for saying that. It was definitely a non- interesting weekend. When I took the kids to daycare on Tuesday, they RAN inside the building before I even got out of the car. They were obviously very glad to get out of the house, and around some friends:)

      And yes, I use the kids names in my blog, but mostly I refer to them as J-Bo and Sister Bear.

       
  4. Todd

    December 30, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Well DUH! Yoda is a given! Should have been first gift purchased anyways…that is unless you already had the Star Wars Legos. Tell Jaxen I asked for batteries for Christmas so that when he comes over my toys will work! LOL

     
    • Jessica

      December 31, 2009 at 3:00 pm

      Todd–what’s really funny is that I took a picture of Yoda on Christmas Eve and almost posted to FB and tagged you in it:) Then I got lazy and went to bed. Oops!

       
  5. Cyndi

    December 30, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    I’m sorry you missed out on x-mas this year and hope you are feeling better.

    I love “Yoda-speak”: Gift best it will be. Hilarious! 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      December 31, 2009 at 3:01 pm

      Cyndi: What’s even funnier is hearing Jaxen try to do it. He doesn’t reverse his nouns and verbs, he simply changes his voice. HIGH-larious!

       
  6. shortmama

    January 1, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    That sucks that you were sick on Christmas! I was sick all that week and thankfully was mostly better by Christmas Eve…however now I seem to be getting sick again…wonderful! Happy New Year!

     
    • Jessica

      January 2, 2010 at 6:16 pm

      Yup, I was down for a few days, but thankfully, I’m getting to enjoy this long weekend, totally sick free! I hope you are feeling better. I saw Rose’s post that you guys had a great time at NYE. That’s great–pics better follow soon:)

       
  7. Jenny

    January 4, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    Aw, hugs to you! I spent one Christmas sick and miles away from my family, and it was wretchedly lonely. Hopefully you’re all happy and better now!

     

Leave a Reply

 
