RSS

4: Laughter & Tears

03 Jan

I’m a sucker for a good comedy.  I love a movie that will make me roll with laughter till I think I’m going to pee my pants. I don’t *really* want to pee my pants, obviously, but I want to feel like I’m going to:)  There are a few that I can watch over and over and over, and never tire of, and that still give me that warm, fuzzy feeling.

1.  Along Came Polly- Ben Stiller, Jennifer Aniston, Debra Messing, Hank Azaria, Phillip Seymour Hoffman.

I think Phillip Seymour Hoffman is a genius.  He’s brilliant in any dramatic movie, but he really shines in comedies.  Really– who else could pull this off?  (And yes, I could totally watch the loop of this for it’s full 9:58.)

And Hank Azaria…. oh, sweet Helen Hunt, why couldn’t you make this marriage work??  Who doesn’t love a man that can make you laugh like that?

2.  Run Fatboy Run- Simon Pegg, Thandie Newton, Hank Azaria, Dylan Moran.

This film is directed by David Schwimmer, who many of us know by a small role of a boy named Ross in a little show called Friends.  Simon Pegg also starred in the semi-cult classics, Shawn of the Dead, and Hot Fuzz.  Dylan Moran starred as the bookshop thief in Notting Hill (if anyone else has watched that as many times as I, then you’ll likely recall his small role.)  I *adore* a good British comedy, and RFR has it right on.  It’s slapstick. It’s crude in parts.  It has lots of foul language.  But at it’s heart- it’s an inspiring story that makes me both snort and cry.  My favorite quote:  “I can lose weight, but you’ll always be an asshole”.

3.  Coupling- a BBC sitcom that is sadly no longer on the air.  The U.S. tried to do their own version, but of course, it just didn’t work.  This is the only TV show that I own on DVD. I love it that much, and can (and have) watched it for hours on end.  I highly recommend checking it out.  Here’s a clip from one of my favorite episodes. 

And if you’re interested, you can stream the episodes here  as well. 

So there you have it- the things that make me laugh till I cry.  And apparently, I have a thing for 1) Hank Azaria 2) men with British accents and 3) people falling down (but then, we already knew that :))  What about you?  Are there any particular types of movies and/or shows that you can’t resist?

 

3 responses to “4: Laughter & Tears

  1. Kat

    January 3, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    The Princess Bride, When Harry met Sally, The Cutting Edge, and the Harry Potters are always guaranteed to make me stay on a channel if i’m surfing around. I don’t know how many times I’ve seen them all, partially or in their entirety, but they always have a way of hooking me in.

     
    • Jessica

      January 3, 2010 at 6:24 pm

      Toe pick! LOL….I’d forgotten about that one!

       
  2. shortmama

    January 3, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    I have a huge list of movies I could watch over and over…Along Came Polly is on that list for me too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
