RSS

6: Date Night

14 Jan

One of my (many) resolutions for this new year, and new decade, is to make our marriage a priority.  I’m sure you fellow mothers know what I mean.  Sometimes between work, and kids, my relationship with the hubs slips to the bottom of the to-do list.  It’s so easy to become comfortable, yet complacent, and assume that all is well–and then something sneaks up and bites you in the butt, and you realize that you weren’t paying enough attention to realize that there was a problem in the first place.  Or at least that’s what happens to me:)  So in an attempt to strengthen the bond we have, and to acquire even more wonderful memories of time spent together, we’ve pledged to treat ourselves to more date nights, with just the two of us.

Last night we ventured out for our first date night of the decade.  Our kind neighbor offered to add our two kids to his already full house, and keep an eye on the J’s while we went out for the evening.  We opted to travel down the road to a new-ish local theatre that we have only frequented one time before.  What can I say? We don’t get out much.

We started with a delicious dinner at the diner inside the theatre.  If you are over 21, you can purcase balcony tickets, and eat and drink to your heart’s content while actually viewing the movie.  Since that can be kind of pricey (depending on which movie you are viewing), we opted to just eat at the diner first, then go see our movie.  Boy, am I glad we did! The food was wonderful! (I apologize in advance for the poor photo quality.  They were taken with my phone since I forgot to take my actual camera.)

We lustily shared cheeseburger sliders, onion rings and malts.  Here’s evidence that the hubs WAS there….that I didn’t just eat it all myself.  He just loves it when I make him pose:)

Next up, a little friendly arcade action. I HEART Ms. Pac-man. 

The theatre is so beautiful, that I just had to take a picture of the entryway into the restrooms.  That scored me some really odd looks from fellow movie-goers:)

And finally, the main event, Avatar in 3D.  This was my husband’s movie choice, but I’m glad he made me see it.  The visual effects were stunning, and although it was reaaaaaally long, I sat thru it better than expected.  My verdict regarding the storyline:  it’s an adult version of Ferngully.  Anyone else remember that gem of a movie?  But at least I got to rock some awesome glasses.  Try not to be jealous of the hotness.

Here’s to taking time for yourself, for your marriage.  It needs to be a priority, and this night reminded me of how much I really like my husband. He makes me smile:)

 
17 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2010 in Date Night, Husband

 

17 responses to “6: Date Night

  1. Shae

    January 17, 2010 at 10:36 am

    I approve! Date nights are awesome and I believe that I encouraged it around New Moon time! I’ll take credit for planting the thought! The J’s are welcome to be in my hip pocket anytime you need a night out; even if it’s just for dinner alone or a drive around the lake or finding a place to “park.” I love the Halls! Viva la Halls!

     
    • Jessica

      January 17, 2010 at 4:48 pm

      Thank you for the kind offer, Shae…that’s really sweet:) And now that we have a big a** TV, I’ll happily be watching Jacob’s abs here at home….oops, i mean, watching New Moon. Damn Freudian slip!

       
  2. kristy hall

    January 17, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    i completely agree with date nights. it is very easy to fall into the routine of day to day life and forget to live it. Glad you guys had fun. those onion rings looked delicous and made my mouth water. =)

     
    • Jessica

      January 17, 2010 at 4:49 pm

      Oh girl…they were SOOOOO good! Jr. offered to get me another order, and I had to really resist, LOL. I would go there just for the food, even if I wasn’t seeing a movie, hehe.

       
  3. fuzzycricket

    January 17, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Hooray for date night! It’s amazing how easy we grow complacent, like you observed. Taking things for granted. Talk about an upscale dinner and movie. And some arcade time??? how fun! I’m going to follow your example and try to kidnap my sweetheart for a date next week.

     
    • Jessica

      January 17, 2010 at 4:49 pm

      FC: Have fun on your date night! Can’t wait to hear about what kind of shenanigans you kids rustle up.

       
  4. shortmama

    January 17, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    I need to have some date nights with the hubs soon too!! Mmmmmmmm Malts, yum! I love Ms Pacman too, love love love

     
    • Jessica

      January 17, 2010 at 4:50 pm

      SM: Just drop those girlies off with Rose and hit the town:) I’m sure she has nothing else going on, what with her five hundred kiddos and all. lol!

       
  5. Cyndi

    January 17, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    I love date nights. Good for you for sticking to this very important resolution! I am jealous of the hotness BTW…. 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      January 17, 2010 at 4:51 pm

      I’d be happy to send some of those glasses your way if you’d like to rock out the hotness in C-Town. They wouldn’t know what hit ’em!

       
  6. Jenny

    January 17, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Glad y’all had a good time! I am still on the fence about whether I want to see Avatar or not – my sister loved it, but it looks a little silly…

     
    • Jessica

      January 17, 2010 at 4:52 pm

      Avatar definitely wouldn’t have been my first choice, but it was nice to finally know what all the people have been talking about:) I’m usually the last to see a movie. I actually got a little teary eyed in parts. I think you would likely enjoy seeing it just for the technology aspect alone. The effects were amazing, and probably better experienced on a big screen.

       
  7. Desert Rose

    January 17, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    I so agree with the date nights. Soooo important. And how funny..my hubby and I went the other day to watch Avatar..and we were sporting those same cool glasses!

     
    • Jessica

      January 17, 2010 at 4:52 pm

      Rose: I can’t believe you didn’t snap a picture of you rockin’ the glasses– it’s a FB profile pic waiting to happen!

       
  8. Desert Rose

    January 17, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    Hey…I saw the comment to shortmama! You’re really trying to make it a zoo around here aren’t you!!!!! I’ve offered to do that for her already…she’s more of a homebody than me though, so it hasn’t happened yet!

     
    • Jessica

      January 17, 2010 at 10:50 pm

      LOL! Busted! There’s just no privacy on this big ole blogosphere, I tell ya! hehehehe….

       
  9. chelle

    January 20, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    w00 h00 for date night!!! I so wanted to see that in the theatre altho maybe not if it is ferngully like 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
