RSS

7: Wish

18 Jan

“I’d like to be the ideal mother, but I’m too busy raising my kids.”- unknown

Some days, I’m a better mother than others.  Today would be one of those NOT somedays.  I am exhausted.  And the only thing I want right now is some silence.  Absolute silence to be exact.  I’m not sure anything could make me happier at the moment.  Ok, maybe winning the lottery would get me all jazzed up, but other than that, I want to hear crickets.  And my fan.  And that’s it.

*snort* Yeah, right. 

When does that ever happen in the life of a mother?  Almost never–except in the late hours of night when everyone is in bed.  Which is why us mothers are often so tired.  We stay up too darn late just to revel in the stillness of those peaceful hours.  (Of course, I really shouldn’t speak for others  here.)

*sigh* Is it really so much to ask for???   All I want is a comfy chair.  Some beloved favorite books.  A cozy blanket.  Some steaming hot coffee.  I don’t think it’s much–but it feels like the world right now. 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2010 in Uncategorized, Wishes

 

10 responses to “7: Wish

  1. Desert Rose

    January 18, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    I have found those times..and will continue to do so. I say take it even if ya have to steal it! Those down times just for yourself are oh so important!

     
    • Jessica

      January 20, 2010 at 8:35 am

      I agree, Rose. And as soon as my flask arrives, I’m going to lock myself in the bathroom with it, and steal some of those moments. Hehe…. I kid, I kid…. maybe…..

       
  2. shortmama

    January 18, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    This is exactly why I go to bed so dang late is because Im trying to have some peace and quiet…and it feels so good I dont want it to end with that crazy sleep stuff!

     
    • Jessica

      January 20, 2010 at 8:36 am

      “…that crazy sleep stuff!”….Amen to that! There are so many other things I’d rather do with my quiet time, LOL!

       
  3. Cyndi

    January 19, 2010 at 5:47 am

    I feel this way a lot and was recently thinking about how it is peaceful after everyone goes to bed and I sometimes stay up way too late to enjoy it. It’s tough to find the time to get peace and quiet during normal hours so that we aren’t so tired!

     
    • Jessica

      January 20, 2010 at 8:37 am

      I’ve often thought about how the mornings are likely just as peaceful, but I’m too damn lazy to get up early to confirm that. So if you find out, please let me know….thanks!

       
  4. fuzzycricket

    January 19, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    Oh, speak away for me, sister! That’s exactly why I lose sleep. No one is making demands, I can read or watch mindless TV on my comfy feather bed with my favorite pillow. I can hear the quiet.

    And I’m with ya. Some days I’m a better mother. Other days? Not so much. There are days when, if I hear one more, “Mom!” I feel like I will scream. Sometimes I do. I’ve come to accept that I will never be the perfect mother. It will be interesting, down the road, to see how many ways I screwed up my Sprogs.

     
    • Jessica

      January 20, 2010 at 8:39 am

      “Mindless” is exactly the word I was searching for. Sometimes I just need to shut.it.down. Shut me down!

      Ironically, I had this post titled “Not So Much”, then changed it, lol.

       
  5. kristy hall

    January 21, 2010 at 12:30 am

    it is 12:30 as i am writing this because as you said we stay up late to enjoy the quiet or in my case actually get things accomplished without 3 screaming kids hanging off me. lol

     
  6. 2kids...3martinis

    January 21, 2010 at 11:47 am

    I hear ya, girl.
    I can never get enough “me” time and I always revel in it.
    Good luck! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
