RSS

8: Kindred in Death- J.D. Robb

20 Jan

Kindred in Death (#29 in the In Death series)
J.D. Robb
Published 2008
Where From: The library

The date was August 14, 1996.  I was 19 years, and one day old.  I thought I was well-prepared.  I mean, after all, I knew who Mary Higgins Clark was, even Tom Clancy, Danielle Steele.  But when my very first customer at B. Dalton Booksellers walked up and asked where to locate Robert Jordan titles, I was clueless, and was soon forced to admit how very little I knew about the literary world.  Thank goodness this job opportunity arose so that I could learn how little I knew. 

I begin my discussion of this book, the 29th in its series, because it was there, in that little hole-in-the-wall bookstore that my love of J.D. Robb began.  My manager kept telling me that I needed to try this series of books, that they were actually written by Nora Roberts, and that although they were shelved in the mystery section, I was certain to enjoy them anyway (all I read at the time was romance).  That was back in the day when the series looked like this:

They were only published in paperback, and I believe they cost $4.99 at the time.  (*sigh* The good ole days….).   Naked in Death was published in July of 1995, so the series hadn’t been out for long before I started reading them.  When I final did enter the world of Eve Dallas and Roarke, New York City circa 2058,  the futuristic setting seemed so far-fetched, almost impossible to imagine.  Now that I’ve been reading the stories of their world for the almost 15 years, it’s not that difficult to see our future interwined with the way J.D. Robb envisioned it to be.  Tubes of Pepsi.  Skids.  Holo rooms.  Now if we could just add a little Roarke to my  future….well, that would be fine, too:)

Kindred in Death is typical J.D. Robb.  Sharp story line.  Witty dialogue.  Fast-read.  Further adventures of the most endearing characters you will ever encounter.  I can’t recommend this book, or this series, highly enough.  But be forewarned–they’re like Pringles… once you stop, you just can’t stop!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2010 in Book Review

 

13 responses to “8: Kindred in Death- J.D. Robb

  1. fuzzycricket

    January 20, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    Sigh. Roarke. And the series is fantastic, for all the reasons you mentioned.

    I found these books a year ago Christmas. I read all of the published ones back to back to back. Talk about a treat! Now I wait, rather impatiently, for the next in the series.

    I also love listening to these in audiobook format. They are super for running or exercising, or even just folding the laundry.

     
    • Jessica

      January 21, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      Since there are soooo many reviews out in the big ole blogosphere about this series, I decided to focus more on my personal experience with the series, rather than plotline, etc. I think the “futuristic” aspect scares some people off, which is really sad, since they are so enjoyable. And it’s such an easy world to acclimate your mind to.

      I’ve been working up a post on audiobooks in my head–hopefully it will make it to paper/screen soon:)

       
  2. shortmama

    January 20, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    You know what I need to do? Is to actually sit down and read a friggin book! I am so behind!

     
    • Jessica

      January 21, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      Yes, you do, my friend! Books are good!

       
  3. fuzzycricket

    January 21, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Okay, I’ve been looking at the covers you posted. What’s with the bloody butterfly? It could be symbolism for the type of victim and how she was murdered? But a butterfly? Really?

     
    • Jessica

      January 21, 2010 at 6:36 pm

      LOL, I’m not sure either. I’d have to re-read the first book to remember the symbolism. I love the marketing on these books though. Both Nora, and her publisher, refused to acknowledge that it was her writing them until the series stood on it’s own, and built a fan base without using her name. I hated when they started putting “NORA ROBERTS- writing as J.D. Robb” on the covers. But that’s just me…

       
  4. Lusty Reader

    January 21, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    oof! i only just found/started this series and am on book 6, book 29 seems impossibly far away but i know ill get there someday! and my library only has the later books in this series so im forced to buy the earlier ones. since there are soooo many im buying the used versions which definitely have a little cheesier covers.

     
    • Jessica

      January 21, 2010 at 6:15 pm

      I’m actually envious that you are only on book 6, LOL. I’m going to have to re-read the series at some point, but I keep getting distracted by new stuff. And also, Nora is so prolific that I would never be able to catch up to the new ones if I started from the beginning again.

      I miss the old covers—cheesiness and all, they give me a warm fuzzy feeling when I see them.

       
  5. Peggy

    January 21, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    Jessica! Ahh! For some odd reason I was trolling around my old blog today and I saw you left a comment a while back…I never got it! I must’ve turned off my email notifications or something!

    I’m so glad your still here! I hope all is well with you and yours…I got so excited I didn’t even read your post…I’ll go back and read it now, I promise!

    xoxo
    Peggy

     
    • Jessica

      January 21, 2010 at 6:16 pm

      Peggy! Yes, I’m still here–still blogging away. You’ve been highly missed–I’m glad you’re back:)

       
  6. Peggy

    January 21, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Ok…neat. So I have “issues” with reading contemporary fiction that is old (1995) for some reason. I’m currently trying to get through Stephen King’s “It” that a friend of mine and I decided we would download to our iphones on Halloween at a bar and I just can’t “get into” it even though I adored it the first time around. Hmmm…

    Currently reading “Await Your Reply” by Dan Chaon

     
    • Jessica

      January 21, 2010 at 6:17 pm

      What’s funny though, is that this series isn’t “contemporary” at all–since it’s set in the future, you wouldn’t be behind times, lol!

      I’m personally not a fan of Stephen King’s fiction works. Blasphemous, I know! But I do love his non-fiction title “On Writing”.

      I’ve never heard of Dan Chaon. I’ll have to look into that!

       
  7. chelle

    January 23, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    hmm ok … checking the library~

     

Leave a Reply

 
