RSS

10: The Sound of Books

24 Jan

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about audiobooks.  I can count on one hand the number of audiobooks I have listened to in my lifetime….not counting, of course, the Rainbow Brite book-on-tapes that I would listen to, and follow along with my finger in the book.  Since become involved in the world of blogging, I’ve noticed how very many people listen to audiobooks.  From what I gather, many of them are also avid readers of books in hard print, but they like to listen to audiobooks to supplement their reading list. 

I’m not quite certain why I’ve never hopped on this train.  Maybe it’s because I don’t have a Kindle, Sony Reader, or *gasp* an iPhone, all technological tools which make the downloading of books easy as pie.  Maybe it’s because I adore the feel of a book in my hands, the reclining in bed as I read at night until my eyes start to close.  Maybe it’s because I hate the thought of  listening to a condensed version of anything, yet am hugely intimidated by the thought of listening to 18 plus hours of something. 

One of the perks of blogging, and getting to peruse numerous wonderful blogs, is that one is exposed to an enormous number of wonderful sounding books.  All which, I of course, want to read–right.this.very.instance.  But when you think of it in terms of “time I want to spend immersed in a book” versus “time I actually get to spend immersed in a book”, I worry that I will never be able to get to all of the bookish goodness!!  And this is where I wonder if I’m missing something by not being on the audiobook train.

So, dear friends, what are your thoughts? Are you an AA (audiobook advocate) or not?  How do you listen to them?  When & where do you listen?  Do you prefer them to holding a book in your hands?  Do you have titles/series that you prefer listening to rather than read, maybe because of the wonderful narrator?  I need some advice peeps, so that I can decide if this is train I want/need to jump on!  Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2010 in Advice needed, Audiobooks

 

10 responses to “10: The Sound of Books

  1. Cyndi

    January 25, 2010 at 6:18 am

    I am extremely pro-actual-books! I love the way they feel, smell, and look. I try to read actual books as often as possible and even have been known to sigh dreamily as I admire my little collection. I’m such a nerd.

    I am also extremely pro-technology. I love all things tech-geek-related, EXCEPT Kindle. The idea of reading a “book” on a hand-held electronic device makes me sad. I want a real book dammit!

    Having said that, I am faced with the same problem as you. Too many books, not enough time. I have started to consider the possibility of downloading an audio book or two to my iTouch to listen to while I work out or in the car. I can’t see me ever giving up on real books but think this may be a good way to attempt to make a dent in my to-read list.

    I am interested to hear what others say, particularly about some favorite narrators so I can **shudder** actually pick one to try.

     
    • Jessica

      January 30, 2010 at 6:29 pm

      Sounds like we are EXACTLY in the same boat, Cyndi. Imagine that–you and I having similar opinions on something:)

       
  2. fuzzycricket

    January 25, 2010 at 9:50 am

    My first love will always be a book with actual pages to turn. I love that connection to the ink. The scent. The heft.

    That said, I’m a huge fan of audiobooks. With the right reader. I got hooked on Jasper Fforde’s “Thursday Next” series while folding the laundry. I ripped the discs to MP3 and listened on my little player. The world came to life for me. I also love the narrator for the In Death series. Or Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. I also loved the last Fever book by Karen Marie Moning. Hooo-eee! Hot stuff. They used a male and female reader who had serious chemistry. But then, I love these authors anyway.

    When do I listen? When I run. I can lose myself in the story, and hence the run. I listen as I work on a craft project. Or while I’m cooking dinner or washing dishes.

    I always listen to MP3s on my headphones. That way I’m not tied to any one room; I can move around.

    Not every audiobook is as engaging as its paper counterpart. And my first love will always be sitting down with an actual book. But listening to someone read can be fun, too.

     
    • Jessica

      January 30, 2010 at 6:33 pm

      Rach: Yes, I bet the Fforde books would be great on audiobook. I think there are certain types of books I could handle & enjoy in audio format (fantasty, sci-fi, non-fiction, mystery), but when it comes to romance oriented books, I’m always concerned about getting an overly schmaltzy narrator:)

      Oh…. I had never thought about trying Outlander on audio! I really want to read them, but I don’t know when I’ll ever find the time to work my way thru them. Is the narrator enoyable, I’m assuming?

      I truly wish I had a treadmill so that I could run & listen. It just sounds so enjoyable!

       
  3. chelle

    January 25, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I used to love listening to books on cd when I would commute to work. But now that I have kids in the car all the time the books we listen to are Bob the Builder and The Disney Fairies collection.

    I tried to listen to one book while working out but I found I didn’t walk or run as fast as when I listened to music.

    Some people I know like to listen while they are crafting/sewing.

     
    • Jessica

      January 30, 2010 at 6:34 pm

      The Disney Fairies collection sounds fun, Chelle. My littlest J would really enjoy that. I wonder if the library has those…I must check. Thanks for your thoughts:)

       
  4. shortmama

    January 25, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    I have been thinking the same thing about audio books! Wondering if I would enjoy it or not!

     
    • Jessica

      January 30, 2010 at 6:35 pm

      SM: Let’s give them a whirl and see!!

       
  5. Jenny

    January 25, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    I love being read to, but I almost never have enough spare time with CD players to listen to audiobooks. Maybe when I get back into cross-stitching…

     
    • Jessica

      January 30, 2010 at 6:38 pm

      Jenny- I totally understand what you mean. My ears are normally full of music, lol, I’m really going to have to schedule in some audiobook time:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
