RSS

11: A Return to Normalcy

30 Jan

*Insert huge sigh of relief*

I have my laptop back. And it works!! Oh sweet mercy, that was the loooongest week of my life.   Not to mention the fact that OKC was hit with a snow/icestorm on Thursday afternoon, and we haven’t left the house since then.  And trust me, fighting for internet time with the hubs when he is addicted to numerous Facebook application games, well…it’s simply not pretty, I tell you.   There are crops that could be dying and food to serve before it spoils- one must not get in the way of that. 🙂 But thanks to my good friend Todd- my laptop is not only back, but better than ever!

I must say though, it’s amazing what all can be done when I’m not tied to my laptop.  I’ve watched numerous movies.  I’ve read two books in the last week, and am currently rotating three titles ( I have reading A.D.D. sometimes).  All the Christmas decorations have finally been packed up.   I’ve done numerous loads of laundry & dishes.  (Side note: It’s amazing how many dishes you go through when you’re housebound for a few days!)  I’ve cuddled with my babies and giggled at their funniness.  Speaking of…

The kids have sure been full of wit & sass lately.  A few days ago, Jaxen refused to give me a kiss, and I caught myself saying, “Well, I brought you in to this world! The least you can do is give me a kiss!”  His response: “Um, you didn’t bring me into this world.  God did.”  Well, snap, my little son– I think he got me on that one. 

I’m so glad to be back in the big blogosphere! You know you’ve all carved a sweet place in my heart when I miss you desperately after being gone for only a few days!  I hope everyone is well….and I promise to get caught up on all those great posts I’ve missed!

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “11: A Return to Normalcy

  1. shortmama

    January 30, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Yay!!!! Glad you made it back!

     
    • Jessica

      January 31, 2010 at 10:55 am

      Me too, girlie, me too! I forgot to mention all the naps and other laziness that I’ve been perfecting as well:)

       
  2. Jenny

    January 31, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Hey! Glad to hear you have your laptop back – I’m miserable without mine! 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      January 31, 2010 at 10:56 am

      Exactly, Jenny! It was like my social life/laptop had been sucked into a big black void. How sad is that!??

       
  3. fuzzycricket

    January 31, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Snowed in? Except the abundance of dishes (amazing phenomenon, how those dishes multiply) and lack of laptop, that sounds heavenly! At least for a few days. I’m always amazed at the things I accomplish when I disconnect for a few days.

    Funnily enough, my son has been saying, “Oh, snap!” lately. Had to laugh when you said it, LOL!

    Importantly, what are you reading?!

    Most importantly, high fives to Jaxen. He’s one smart cookie!

    Nice to have you back online, Jess. I missed you.

     
  4. Jessica

    January 31, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Rach: It was heavenly- at first- but now we’re starting to get a little stir crazy. I think today is even colder & nastier than the previous ones. Everything keeps refreezing, and it’s just getting slicker and slicker. *sigh* I have to go dig my car out later today, in the hopes that it won’t be totally frozen in again tomorrow morning when we have to leave. The kids have been out of school since Thursday, so they are getting a wee bit tired of Mom & Dad, LOL.

    You would think my house would be spotless by now, but I ran out of steam afer the 9th time of cleaning the kitchen. Maybe it was the 8th??

    Reading- I finished “Cleaving” by Julie Powell (which I’m working on a review of) and “Too Good To Be True” by Kristen Higgans (wonderful!). I’m currently rotating Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert, The Gastronomy of Marriage (can’t recall the author’s name at the moment) and Just One of the Guys by Kristen Higgans. The Shack and The Lost Symbol are up next in my stack.

    Off I go for another go round with the dirty dishes. They’re probably going to win—-again:)

     
  5. 2kids...3martinis

    January 31, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    Girl, I hear ya. The Man was gone for 2 1/2 days, my ‘puter was down with a nasty virus, and I missed my daily rituals. Big time.

    Glad the laptop’s back!

     
    • Jessica

      January 31, 2010 at 9:22 pm

      Kerr…I’m glad your family made it back. I bet your house was awfully quiet, what with no kiddos, and no tapping of the keyboard.

       

Leave a Reply

 
