RSS

12: An Oklahoma Winter Wonderland (Again)

31 Jan

For the second time in just over a month, Oklahoma has been hit by a snowy, wintery blast.  In my head, I see an Old Man Winter-type cloud with a face, blowing out a whoosh of icy air, grinning as he does so.  And then I think of this:

Things that make you go hmmmmm.  And brrrrr.

The kids have been out of school since Thursday, and to be honest, I won’t be surprised if they close again tomorrow.  The snowing and sleeting have stopped, but it starts to melt during the day, then at night it’s refreezing again, creating an unpleasant mess all over again. I worked until a little after noon on Thursday, but haven’t been back to the office since then.  To be honest, I haven’t put on make-up, done my hair, or gotten out of my pajamas since Friday.  I’m looking lovely, I assure you.   I thought I’d share a couple photos of what the front of our house currently looks like.  I wasn’t about to trudge through the snow/ice to get shots of the back…sorry:)  (And yes….those are still Christmas lights you see up.  Oops!)

I’m feeling the urge to take a nap. I really shouldn’t– my internal clock is getting  spoiled.  But it’s cold.  And gloomy.  And I’m out of wine.  So couch & covers, it is.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2010 in 2010, Icestorm, Winter

 

6 responses to “12: An Oklahoma Winter Wonderland (Again)

  1. 2kids...3martinis

    January 31, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Wow! That’s a lot of ice!!

    Now imagine cold and snow that stays, oh, about 4-5 months at a time. And imagine how hard it is to get dressed and out in the months from November to March.

    Sorry…my pity party’s done. It’s hard to live with the weather when you’re not accustomed to it. Or have the local resources to deal with it. And ice sure does suck worse than snow!!

    Don’t feel badly…I’ve been in my pj’s all day today. 🙂

    Be careful out there!!

     
    • Jessica

      January 31, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      I actually thought about both you (and Cyndi below) when I wrote this. I could just hear you girls saying, “Suck it up!” LOL!

       
  2. shortmama

    January 31, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    BRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!

     
  3. Cyndi

    January 31, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Looks like our winters that last 6 freakin’ months! Blech.

    It makes you lazy and lethargic. Hope some decent weather is headed your way soon!

     
    • Jessica

      January 31, 2010 at 9:21 pm

      Me too, girl…and I hope some heads your way as well. I don’t know how you do it! I’m just worthless. And it has been confirmed- the kids are out again tomorrow. ARGH! I hope the daycare is open, cause I REALLY need to go to work! And I REALLY need to get out of the house!

       
  4. fuzzycricket

    February 1, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Yeah, ice is no fun, unless it’s cooling down a refreshing drink. I’m jealous that your kids are out of school! We frequently wake up to 4-10 inches of snow, over yesterday’s ice sheet. We haven’t had a snow day in decades. Just the other day, I dropped the kids off at school and got stuck behind a bunch of people who couldn’t get enough traction to up and out of the school parking lot. I went around them in my 4-wheel-drive, snow-tired vehicle. Love that thing.

    Stay warm and safe. Especially since I’m sure you’ll need to leave the house at some point to maintain your sanity. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
