RSS

15: Bookish A.D.D.

07 Feb

I’m not quite certain why, but I’ve been very A.D.D. with my reading lately.  I’ll get a hankering to read something, right.this.very.minute, start it, and twenty pages later, feel the urge to start something else.  Thus, I’ve had about four books going in current rotation for the past week or so.  A co-worker of mine has stated that she doesn’t understand how I can read more than one book at a time.  I’ve found the secret to be reading books that are of different genres.  For example, my current reads have been a travel/memoir, a food-lit/memoir, a romance, and a young adult title.  There’s no way I could read, say, three romances at one time.  The characters would start to overlap in my brain, and I’m certain I would have trouble remembering what story-line I was following.  I find it to be much easier if the books are a wide variety of topics…no way to get the dashing heros confused that way! 

I’ve also, in my A.D.D.ish-ness, been having trouble finishing books.  Which, I must say, is really odd for me. I’m usually a finisher.  I returned three books to the library today, that I wasn’t done with, and they didn’t have to be returned today. I don’t know why exactly–I just didn’t feel any interest in finishing them.   I have actually finished some titles though–some really good ones, at that, along with one really bad one.  I keep starting to write my reviews of them, and then get bloggy A.D.D…. and well, as you can see, they’ve never been completed.

*sigh* Maybe it’s this cold, dreary weather.  All our snow from last weekend finally melted off, only to be arriving again tomorrow.  Maybe it’s the fact that my husband is acting like an ass.  Maybe it’s the fact that I had an absolute hell week at work- only to be pulled in to work on Saturday as well, so it doesn’t even feel like I’ve gotten a weekend.  Maybe it’s the fact that my kids are reallllly testing me lately.  Or maybe it’s just because I’m out of chocolate almond ice cream.  That’s probably it.

Does anyone else suffer from bookish A.D.D.? Bloggy A.D.D.?  Or am I alone in my ailments?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2010 in A.D.D., Books

 

12 responses to “15: Bookish A.D.D.

  1. shortmama

    February 7, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    You have book ADD and I have decorating ADD….toMAto, toMOto

     
    • Jessica

      February 8, 2010 at 8:21 am

      Lol… PoTAto, PoTAHto. 🙂

       
  2. Cyndi

    February 8, 2010 at 6:09 am

    I definitely suffer from bloggy ADD. I can read more than 1 book at a time but like you said, from different genres. I have been “reading” (really not reading) a book I was DYING to read (by Anthony Bourdain) for months. Sometimes I think the genre just isn’t right for my mood. I think this summer laying by the pool, I’ll be all about his book but right now….meh. And what’s up with the new blog design and where’s your bookshelf??!!

     
    • Jessica

      February 8, 2010 at 8:21 am

      Which Bourdain book are you reading? I love all his non-fiction stuff, but I haven’t read any of his fiction yet. Re; “….a book I was DYING to read….”, I’m so doing that with Committed. What’s wrong with me???

      As for the layout…I was just testing out some new themes. I was bored with mine, but I can’t find one I really like that has all the feature I’d like. I must learn how to manipulate these things…but I doubt I ever do:)

       
      • Cyndi

        February 8, 2010 at 8:29 am

        Kitchen Confidential. It’s a great book with lots of fun stories of debauchery but I can’t stick with it.

         
      • Jessica

        February 12, 2010 at 8:16 am

        Love love love Kitchen Confidential! I do believe it was the first “food memoir” I ever read. And thus, the monster was created:)

         
  3. 2kids...3martinis

    February 8, 2010 at 10:14 am

    Completely. Me too. I’ve started so many books in the past years and not finished them, then I feel guilty like I’m cheating on the unfinished book if I start a new one. Weird, huh?

    We need to start a “my husband is being an ass” club. I’ll be President if you’ll be my VP?

     
    • Jessica

      February 12, 2010 at 8:16 am

      K: We need to come up with a name for this club. Any suggestions? I doubt A**holes Anonymous would be very welcomed.

       
  4. fuzzycricket

    February 8, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    My daughter can read 3 books at a time. I can’t. Tried. Can’t. So, what you call ADD, I call talent.

     
    • Jessica

      February 12, 2010 at 8:17 am

      Can you little one also read in the car?? I lost that ability years ago, and boy, do I miss it.

       
  5. Jenny

    February 8, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    You are not alone! I have all these books on the go at once and I feel like I’m not getting anything finished. And definitely I’m having a hard time getting all my reviews written.

     
    • Jessica

      February 12, 2010 at 8:18 am

      Jenny…I always enjoy your reviews so much, so regardless of when you get them up, I’ll be waiting to read them. As will many others of your faithful followers:) Just breathe….

       

Leave a Reply

 
