RSS

17: The Gastronomy of Marriage

09 Feb

The Gastronomy of Marriage: A Memoir of Food and Love
Michelle Maisto
Published: September 2009
256 pages
Where From: The library

I loved everything about this book.  The cover.  The size and how it felt in my hands.  The words inside.  The recipes.  The relationship between the author and her fiancee, and how they struggle to find the balance in the kitchen and in their almost- marriage.  Michelle Maisto writes and cooks beautifully, and often her thoughts had me bobbing my head in agreement, and wondering why I had never thought of that myself.  I imagine that she is going to be around the world of writing for a long time to come.  As for now, while I wait on her next title to be released, I plan on purchasing this book and re-reading it over and over and over again…just to feel as if I’m a guest in Michelle & Rich’s home.  I wonder what’s for dinner?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2010 in Book Review, Books read, Michelle Maisto

 

5 responses to “17: The Gastronomy of Marriage

  1. Jenny

    February 11, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    This looks like exactly the kind of book that would fill me with insecurities. Even being in my kitchen at the same time as someone else stresses me out – cause that’s the kind of non-cook I am. 😛 So jealous of people who can cook together and not want to kill each other.

     
  2. Jessica

    February 12, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Jenny: I failed miserably by not pointing out that this book is really a chronicle of her figuring out how to balance her feminism vs. her desire to be in the kitchen. Her fiancee’ takes on extra jobs to help make more money for their upcoming wedding, and she takes on the role of “dinner cook”, but it’s interesting to see how she copes with being placed in a role that she’s been struggling to get away from her whole life. (I’m sure that was just clear as mud, LOL!). I’m not a great cook either….but I sure like to read about food:)

     
  3. Care

    February 12, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Oh, the cover IS great, isn’t it! I’ll seek this book out – my hub is embarking on a crazy chef-kick and I bet I would like contrast of this story with my 20+ year love affair. 🙂

     
  4. Care

    February 12, 2010 at 11:32 am

    oh, and now that I read your response to Jenny’s comment, I want to read this even more. Thx

     
    • Jessica

      February 12, 2010 at 3:31 pm

      Care: Thanks for visiting the OB! So nice to meet you:) I hope you are successful in tracking down a copy of Gastronomy. Please come back and let me know what you thought of it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
