RSS

21: Many the Miles

15 Feb

My dad called this evening to tell me that my mom had knocked a pistol off of a shelf in her closet, and it had discharged and shot her in the arm.  It broke her arm in four places, and she can’t move her left hand.  She’s currently in surgery at our hometown hospital, and I’m here, two hours away, wishing that I was there with my family.  I plan on leaving early tomorrow morning, but there was no way I could have made it in time tonight.  As horrifying as this episode is, and I certainly don’t wish it on anyone, I can’t help but feel very grateful that 1) it didn’t hit her in a more serious part of her body and 2) that no one else, specifically my little niece, was in the room with her at the time.

I’m feeling very low at the moment.  Wishing I could hug my dad. My sister. My mom, of course, although I’m sure she’s extremely doped up at the moment.   Today is my husband’s birthday, so I’ve spent the last three hours “whipping up” a birthday dinner for when he returns from class. I hope he enjoys it– it’s been made with lots of love, but has also been useful for keeping my mind off of things.  I’m sure ready for him to get home– I could use a hug.  And some of that cake and ice cream.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

14 responses to “21: Many the Miles

  1. chelle

    February 16, 2010 at 4:45 am

    oh my goodness!!!! Totally sending positive vibes your way!

     
  2. Cyndi

    February 16, 2010 at 7:17 am

    Oh Jess, I’m so sorry! How awful. You’re right, it is very lucky that it got her in the arm and not somewhere else. Hope she’s doing better soon.

     
    • Jessica

      February 16, 2010 at 7:49 am

      Thanks, Cyndi, I appreciate it. No news is good news, I suppose. I haven’t heard from my dad again, so I assume the surgery went successfully.

       
  3. 2kids...3martinis

    February 16, 2010 at 9:54 am

    Oh, sweetie…I’m sending *BIG HUGS* your way right now–(((HUGS)))

    That’s so awful! I’m so very grateful she’s okay. It could have been so much worse. How lucky. Any chance they will keep the guns locked up or unloaded (or both) in the future? Especially for the little one’s sake? I sure hope…

    How was dinner? You are a sweet wifey. What did you make? Love makes everything taste great, huh? 🙂 Oh, and safe travels today…

     
    • Jessica

      February 16, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      Thanks so much, Kerr. I felt your hugs from here:)

      As for the gun, she’s owned it since her pre-marriage days when she lived alone and felt safer having a gun in the house. My dad didn’t know that it was loaded. Apparently, my mom was getting it down to check on it for some reason, and it fell out of the box and went off. *sigh* EXACTLY why I hate guns. I think she’s going to get rid of it totally now.

      Dinner= meatloaf, cajun mac & cheese, cornbread casserole (aka heart attack in a pan), and fried potatoes. Not a healthy meal at all–but definitely delicious. Worth a once a year treat:)

       
      • 2kids...3martinis

        February 17, 2010 at 8:26 am

        OMG, Jess…that dinner sounds WONDERFUL!!!! Meat and carb heaven!

        I hate guns too. I rarely speak of this because it’s painful to relive, but my son found a loaded gun when he was in kindergarten. I was not there; it was in a family member’s car. He picked it up. I feel sick just typing this. But you get the picture…hate those things, especially when there are children around. I’m glad they will be getting rid of it and am glad she’s going to be okay. Keep us updated, K?

        XOXO

         
  4. fuzzycricket

    February 16, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Ah, Jess. Thinking of you today and hoping things turn out well. I admire you for being able to recognize that that things could be worse. Doesn’t lessen the pain of the moment, but still…

    Hope the dinner was fun and that you got that hug.

     
    • Jessica

      February 16, 2010 at 8:39 pm

      Rach: Surgery went well, now she’s facing many, many months of recovery and physical therapy. Her arm was shattered from the elbow down, and there’s lots of nerve damage. But, she was in good spirits today, more embarassed than anything, I believe. It was good to see her smiling.

       
  5. shortmama

    February 16, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Thinking of you today!

     
    • Jessica

      February 16, 2010 at 8:39 pm

      Thanks, Amanda! I REALLY appreciate all the kind thoughts and words. They mean the world to me!

       
  6. Jenny

    February 16, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    Best wishes for your mum’s recovery – what an awful thing to have happen, but I’m glad it wasn’t worse.

     
    • Jessica

      February 16, 2010 at 8:40 pm

      Thank you, Jenny! We are very grateful that it wasn’t even more serious– just even more proof that there’s no day but today!

       
  7. Michelle

    February 16, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    That’s horrible, Jessica, I’m so sorry! Sending prayers and good thoughts your way. I hope your mom’s feeling a million times better soon…

    ps: And thanks for all the sweet words about Gastronomy…

     
    • Jessica

      February 16, 2010 at 8:43 pm

      Michelle: Thank you so much for your kind words! And wow–what an awesomely fun way to end a cruddy day- seeing that one of my favorite authors stumbled their way over to my little slice of the internet. I truly loved Gastronomy and hope to hear more about upcoming titles from you!! 🙂 By the way….I was so surprised to see you feature the corn/cornbread casserole dish in your book. I didn’t know that anyone else in the world appreciated that dish as much as I do. In fact, I made it for my husband’s birthday dinner last night!

       

Leave a Reply

 
