RSS

24: The Library is My BFF

19 Feb

Tonight marked the opening preview event of  the annual Friends of the Library sale here in Oklahoma City.  I’m sure many cities have similar sales, but OKC’s is truly exceptional.  The sale occupies an entire building on our state fairgrounds, literally thousands and thousands of titles selling for a song (only 50 cents for paperbacks, one dollar for hardcovers).  If you purchase of Friends membership (also available for next to nothing), you can attend the Friday night “preview” event, rather than attend with the general public on Saturday and Sunday, which is free and open to all.  This marks the fifth year (I believe) that my friends and I have made it an annual Friday night journey.  And this year, as with the past preview nights, I walked away with many goodies.

A shot of my finds this year:

I purchased all 25 of these titles for a mere….drumroll, please….$16!  OH YEAH! That’s what I’m talking ’bout!

I’ve found that my purchases tend to vary every year.  Some years I go for titles I’ve already read that I know I’d like to own.  Sometimes I buy a lot of gifts for others.  This year, I thought I purchased quite a variety of items, but I did tend to lean more towards the romance/urban fantasy/paranormal titles.  My favorite find though is the Kristan Higgins book that I’ve actually been searching for and have been unable to find in any nearby stores.  It was literally the third book I saw when I entered the building.  Excellent find, if I do say so myself:)

So I’m off, to do some reading, of course.  What about your area?  Does your city/town offer any type of annual library sale?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2010 in Books, FOTL, Kristan Higgins

 

4 responses to “24: The Library is My BFF

  1. Cyndi

    February 22, 2010 at 4:45 am

    You got A Year By The Sea!!

    And, The Year Of Magical Thinking was excellent, I thought.

    That’s a great sale!

     
    • Jessica

      February 22, 2010 at 7:19 pm

      I wondered if you would “I Spy” that one, Cyndi:) I let out a little squeal when I saw it!!

       
  2. chelle

    February 22, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Ooo I seriously love library sales!

     
    • Jessica

      February 22, 2010 at 7:19 pm

      Chelle: I’m a serious booksale whore. I admit it. I travel freely around the state of Oklahoma for sales. I should put a sign in my car: Booksale or Bust!

       

Leave a Reply

 
