RSS

35: Karma

14 Mar

My wallet was stolen.

To be fair, I likely dropped it, but that doesn’t change the fact that some ass decided to help themselves to my belongings, when they could have easily returned it.  I went out to my normal bar of choice, The Boom (where I perform occasionally) to see some friends sing.  The bartender, a friend of mine, brought my tab to the table, I paid it with my checkcard, and remember placing the receipt and card back in my wallet.  I guess when I leaned down to place it in my purse, I missed.  Unfortunately, I didn’t realize this until a good 24 hours later, when I reached my hand in my purse to retrieve something, and immediately realized that something wasn’t right. 

After perusing my bank accounts, it appeared that while I was still at the bar (which really chaps my hide), the thief had taken one of my cards and hit up a gas station.  They then used the other one to purchase some food at Sonic.  Note that whoever it is, they are smart little boogers, as they used it at places where you can just swipe your card, no ID required.  The amounts weren’t much, and I was able to freeze the accounts before any further damage occured.  I have new checkcards on order, and my banks are monitoring the accounts for anyone trying to use the old cards.  I still have to go get a new drivers license, request new health cards, and new car insurance.  Today, I took care of THE most important thing, and went and cancelled all of our library cards, and obtained new ones.  Definitely high priority.  I’m certain that the thief would try to the go the library and pick up lots of goodies.  *snort*

I’m thankful that the fall-out hasn’t been too bad, and has been relatively easy to fix.  But it has really gotten me to thinking about what type of person could just pick up something that isn’t theirs, and just help themselves.  I don’t understand this type of behavior, because I know, without a doubt, that I could never do that.   All I can say is karma’s a bitch….what goes around comes around, and I’m sure they will get their just desserts at some point.

 

 
 

7 responses to “35: Karma

  1. shortmama

    March 17, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    That is awful!!!!

     
  2. Jenny

    March 18, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Ugh, I’m sorry. It’s such a pain to have to replace everything. Why can’t people be honest??

     
  3. fuzzycricket

    March 18, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Ah, Jess. I hate that feeling of realizing that your wallet isn’t where it’s supposed to be. What a hassle. I’ve returned so many wallets and purses to customer service I’ve lost count. It’s just not worth putting someone through this crap.

    I’m smiling at the library card replacement, glad that you can laugh (even sarcastically) at this whole fiasco

     
  4. Jessica

    March 19, 2010 at 8:26 am

    Thanks, ladies. I’m slowly working my way through the replacement process, but it’s been less work than I originally anticipated. So yeah for that;) But I am bummed that my favorite wallet is gone. It was sage green, and just luscious. I bet they just throw it away, too. Jerks.
    I hope everyone is having a nice week!

     
  5. 2kids...3martinis

    March 19, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Karma IS a bitch, and I’m sure it’s on it’s way to bite that person in the ass ASAP!!

    That sucks so bad, girlie. I’m so sorry, but you are very lucky it wasn’t worse. Like having your house broken into and your life, I mean, laptop stolen!! So glad the theives didn’t get too far. Oh, and they sure do sound classy!

    Karma’s turn to give you some good stuff in return. Hope it comes soon.

     
    • Jessica

      March 19, 2010 at 12:04 pm

      Kerr, you’re so right!! Your story was definitely leaps and bounds more horrific than my little incident. I’m glad I have you to keep my perspective in check:)

       
  6. Dee

    March 19, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    You know how I feel about this. It takes a real p.o.s. to take ANYTHING thing tjat doesn’t belong to them. Shame shame shame on you Boom wallet theiver!!!!! Your retribution is on its way!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
