RSS

The Power of Prayer

05 Apr

Because I believe in the power of prayer, I’m sending this out into the big blogosphere. 

My mom’s recovery from her accident suddenly took a wrong turn late last week.  One of her medications became toxic in her bloodstream, and she was unable to stand or write as of last Thursday.  The doctor took her off of the meds, in an attempt to detox her, and they said she would be feeling better in 24-48 hours.  This was on Friday, and by Sunday afternoon, she was still asleep, and had been for almost 60 hours.  Dad had her taken to the hospital, where they are using an IV to flush out her system.  Last night she had a seizure, but is stable at the time being.  She still isn’t talking, (partly due to the tubes that are currently down her throat) but will open her eyes when asked to do so.  They’ve discussed the possibility of doing dialysis and are watching her kidneys closely, and have also discussed possibly moving her to the hospital in OKC.  I’m going to our hometown tomorrow if she isn’t up here by then.   It’s been very fast and frightening.  Please send out massive prayers for her. Thank you!

 

The parentals- October 2009.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “The Power of Prayer

  1. fuzzycricket

    April 5, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Jess – You definitely have my support and prayers. And long-distance hugs. Stay safe in your travels, my friend. I hope you find a measure of peace.

     
  2. Cyndi

    April 5, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Jess – How scary, I’m so sorry! I’ll be thinking of you and your mom and sending my best wishes. {{HUGS}}

     
  3. Jessica

    April 5, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Thanks ladies. I really appreciate it. They air-flighted her in to OKC today, so she’s here now. Still unresponsive, but her levels seem to be improving, so there’s a chance they might not have to do the dialysis. We’ve got our fingers crossed that she opens her eyes and starts speaking tomorrow. She did try to smile when I was there this evening:) They did a brain scan yesterday and there was no brain damage, which is very encouraging news.

     
  4. Jenny

    April 6, 2010 at 6:35 am

    Oh, that sounds so scary! My prayers are with y’all.

     
  5. 2kids...3martinis

    April 6, 2010 at 9:45 am

    I’m so sorry, sweetie. My heart goes out to you and especially to her right now. (I’ve been MIA in Indiana for the past several days myself due to family issues, so I apologize for reading this so late.) Sounds like she may be turning a corner and for that, I am thankful. I’ll send out everything I’ve got to the universe to help her.
    xoxo
    Kerr

     
  6. chelle

    April 6, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    oh my! Totally sending positive vibes your way!

     

Leave a Reply

 
