RSS

1R

11 Apr

When it comes to music, the term “groupie” doesn’t really fully describe the levels of fandom that I’m capable of hitting.  I will cyber-stalk my favorites until I know everything about them.  I will post blogs about them in the hopes that others will be able to hear them as I do.  I will travel near & far to support their live performances.  I will create inside jokes with my friends so that if I say “I’m a backstage Bettie waiting on my rocket to come!”, they will know what I mean.  This being explained…. I’d love to share with you my newest obsession, OneRepublic.

A few years ago, OneRepublic was discovered on youtube, and their amazing song “Apologize” was famously remixed by Timbaland (I swear, everything that man touches turns gold!).  It went on to become on the biggest pop hits of the year, and was covered by many, many artists all over youtube.  The only thing that really bugs me though is that the mix is always titled “Timbaland- Apologize ft. OneRepublic”.  I’m sorry, but I think OneRepublic is featuring YOU, Mr. Timbaland. Just sayin’.  Anywhoo….here is the mix version of Apologize, as well as my favorite version of it, taken at an acoustic show performend in London recently.  What I would have given to be there for that.

And for those of you are dance fans, I also had the pleasure of seeing Jabberwockeez from America’s Best Dance Crew perform to this song when they opened for New Kids on the Block.  [Yes, I said New Kids.  And yes, it totally rocked.]

After Apologize, 1R, as they are known their fans, released other successful singles, including “Stop and Stare.”

I enjoyed OneRepublic’s first album.  There’s no doubt about that.  But a couple weeks ago, when my girl Dee called me up and said, “Jess, you’ve GOTTA listen to this!”, well, I listened.  She knows me well, and has never strayed me in the wrong direction musically.  Here’s what she wanted me to hear- the lead single off of 1R’s new album titled “Waking Up”.

How could anyone NOT love a band that has a cello player??  *sigh*  Speaks to my heart, I tell ya.  I’m a sucker for a good lyric (“Am I bright enough to shine in your spaces?).  Add some strings and it’s on.

It probably goes without saying that I rushed right out and got Waking Up.  I haven’t been disappointed in the least.  And I think it’s safe to see that it’s leaning towards being my favorite album of 2010.  For whatever that’s worth:)

I’ll leave you with my favorite track from the album.  And don’t laugh too hard at the host’s pronunciation of Beyonce.  I hope that you’ll take the time to click on these videos [if you have to pick just one, go with this last one:)].  I hope in the deepest part of my musicwhore heart that you hear these songs as I do and develop a fellow love for them.  I’ve given “all my secrets away”.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 11, 2010 in Addiction, Music, Muzak, my rockin' friends

 

One response to “1R

  1. chelle

    April 18, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    I think it is awesome that you find such wicked music! Thanks for sharing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
