RSS

Adios, April!

25 Apr

My poor neglected Overflowing Bookshelf.  I feel like I’ve abandoned you this month.  Let me explain why.  I’m chalking April up as a total loss.  Nothing but chaos and crap around here, and I’m ready to chunk this month, and start a-new.

My mom was really sick earlier in the month, but thankfully, is doing much better now.  No signs of a stroke, and her kidneys are once again functioning properly.  She’s getting stronger every day, and I know this sounds horrible, but I’m so grateful to have not heard from my dad for a few days.  No news is good news:)

My littlest J has been sick on and off this month as well, having tonsillitis and a recurring fever for weeks.  We seem to have finally turned a corner on that, although she told me today that her head was hurting again (always the first sign of the oncoming fever).  I’m crossing my fingers that she stays healthy.

I was down for the good part of a week with the flu.  And yes, I did get a flu shot this year, and no, I have no idea how I ended up with it.   I didn’t feel well enough to read.  Didn’t want to watch TV.  Couldn’t sleep (my brain wouldn’t shut down, even though my body felt horrible).   So incredibly frustrating, but for the first time all month, last week I actually worked a full week at work.  It was so incredibly nice to finally be back to a normal routine again.  I’m praying that it remains that way!

Soccer. Soccer. Soccer.  I’m not sure we’re going to do this spring season of soccer again.  I know it’s always a crapshoot in Oklahoma (the bipolar weather state), but the fall season was much nicer to us weather wise.  The kids have been playing in the worst of conditions for the past few weeks— wind like you wouldn’t even believe, rain, freezing cold.  Not to mention us parents who have to sit through it too, or through all the practices as well.  Jalyn  actually cheered when I told her she didn’t have a game this weekend.  That should tell you something:)  It’s so much fun to watch the kids play—but being miserablely cold really puts a damper on the enjoyment.

I sound so incredibly whiney, and for that, I apologize.  I’m just venting, recapping the yuckiness, so that tomorrow can be a new day.  A fresh start.  Let’s try this again.

“Finish each day and be done with it.  You have done what you could.  Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in,
forget them as soon as you can.  Tomorrow is a new day, you shall begin it well and serenely…” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “Adios, April!

  1. shortmama

    April 25, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    Here here. To a fresh start for May

     
    • Jessica

      April 28, 2010 at 11:49 am

      Amen, sistah! Hope things are going good in your neck of the woods. I haven’t seen much of you on FB lately??

       
  2. Jenny

    April 26, 2010 at 9:55 am

    You don’t sound whiney at all! April just sounds terrible for you this year. Here’s hoping for a far better May!

     
    • Jessica

      April 28, 2010 at 11:50 am

      Thanks, Jenny. At least April is finishing out on a good note. More about that later;)

       
  3. fuzzycricket

    April 26, 2010 at 10:56 am

    I love that Emerson quote. It’s on my list of favorites.

    For the record? You do not sound whiney. We all need to vent, to acknowledge that we feel crappy so we can move on. Glad to see an update, no matter what it is! I’m so glad your mom is doing better but sorry to hear about the weather. Wind gets to me. I’d rather be in a freezing rain. Poor soggy soccer players.

    Here’s to a wonderful May!

     
    • Jessica

      April 28, 2010 at 11:52 am

      I, too, adore the quote. It’s my new catchphrase. “Finish each day and be done with it.” Sounds good to me:) How are some people oh so wise?? Emerson put into one little statement what I’ve been trying to say for years, lol.

       
  4. Cyndi

    April 26, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    LOVE this quote!! Too sick to read?! Wow, I should have been much more worried about you than I was. Here’s to a better May! 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      April 28, 2010 at 11:53 am

      Ahh….you’re too sweet, Cyndi:) I don’t think I finished a single book this month. I believe I started like 20 (maybe a small exaggeration:)), but couldn’t keep my attention on any of them. *sob* What a waste. May WILL be better!

       

Leave a Reply

 
