RSS

Everything Austen II

05 Jul

I’ve been neglecting the OB for far too long.  In searching for something that will get me out of my funk, and hopefully dissipate this cloud of unhappiness that’s been hanging  over my head, I’ve found a goal that will not only make me smile, encourage me to make new friends, and work steadily towards an accomplishment — but will also be the catalyst to read some literature that I’ve been meaning to read for years.  Introducing, the Everything Austen Challenge II.

Last year, I read about others exploits and adventures in this challenge, but didn’t take the initiative to join.  Well, no more, I say!  I’m ready!  The rules of this challenge are simple and straightforward (necessary requirements in my world).  Simply read, watch or participate in any six Austen related projects from July 1, 2010 through January 1, 2011.   Really — could it get much easier than that?  Stephanie over at  Stephanie’s Written Word is graciously hosting this adventure, so please go visit her page to join this challenge as well.  It’s guaranteed to be a bloody good time. Haha! Look at me….already using British lingo:) 

Here are my picks for the challenge, although I reserve  the right to edit/change my selections at any time (and I’m sure I will).

BOOKS:

Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler

Jane Austen Ruined My Life by Beth Patillo

Scones and Sensibility by Lindsay Eland

Confessions of  Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler

MOVIES:

Lost in Austen

I’ve had my eye on some of these titles for a few years, things that looked interesting  to me – but I thought it might be best to read them after I have actually read an Austen work.  Some of the titles, and the movie, came to my attention after reading fantastic reviews around the blogosphere during EA1.   I’m really looking forward to this challenge.  Off I go to start my Austen Adventure!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2010 in Books, Challenge, Everything Austen II

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Everything Austen II

  1. Cyndi

    July 6, 2010 at 6:00 am

    LOVE the new blog design! I’ve never read any Jane Austen. No way can I commit to a reading challenge as my reading interests bounce around too much. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on these books and maybe I’ll read one or even a few. I’m already interested in Pride & Prejudice. Welcome back to blogging, it’s good to hear from you! 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      July 6, 2010 at 11:37 am

      Thanks, Cyndi! I thought maybe some of my lack of desire to blog was because I was bored with my page – thus the new background. I’ve been slowly catching up on everyone’s posts. I didn’t realize how much I missed my bloggy community!! Off to yours now….

       
  2. DeAnna

    July 6, 2010 at 8:59 am

    I might just have to do this with you. You know I am a huge Austen fan. Which is odd, being such an unaccomplished reader…I can settle into an Austen novel quite easily. I have a JA collection and would love to finish it. Aside from P&P (which Ive read twice) and Emma,…I have yet to finish the other four. Maybe this could be the motivation I have been lacking. 🙂

     
  3. Lusty Reader

    July 6, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    Yay, you’re back! I’ve never read any of the “related” or “mash-up” Jane Austen books, I take my Austen straight up! So I’m interested to hear how they go for you!

     
    • Jessica

      July 6, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      Ahh…thanks! It’s nice to be missed:) And I love how you take your Austen like a glass of Scotch. Straight up, please! [I dare you to NOT sing that song in your head all night now. You’re welcome:)]

       
  4. fuzzycricket

    July 8, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    Can’t wait to read your reviews and see what you think of this whole Austen thing! I got a huge kick out of Lost in Austen. I may have to watch it again. Watch it after you’ve read Pride and Prejudice, though. The jokes are much funnier that way. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
