RSS

A Night At the Theatre

07 Jul

Tonight was a monumental evening for Sister Bear.  She attended her first big time musical theatre production!  We lucked into some amazing seats for opening night of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang at the Civic Center, a beautiful venue  here in OKC. 

And what a way to be introduced to live musical theatre! Jalyn was positively enraptured, as I was, by the spectacular singing and dancing, and the absurdly talented cast and crew.  Attending a show with a flying car is the perfect way to expose a six year old to live theatre, by the way.  When we  arrived  back home, the first words out of her mouth were, ‘Bubby! I saw a flying car!!”. 

And when she commented on all the audience members bringing in flowers, I assured her that when she takes the stage to star in her own show, I’ll be the first in line with roses for my baby girl.  I sense a lot of roses in her future.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2010 in Jalyn, Sister Bear

 

6 responses to “A Night At the Theatre

  1. fuzzycricket

    July 8, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    *Clap Clap* The First Musical! We love going to musicals. This sounds like a fun one! Lion King was amazing and Beauty and the Beast was fun, too. Let me know when she gets her first staring role. I’ll bring roses, too.

     
    • Jessica

      July 9, 2010 at 10:53 am

      I took Jalyn to see Beauty & The Beast last year at a smaller local theatre, but I considered this her first bigtime show exposure -not to mention that our seats were incredible, so she was actually close enough to truly pay attention this time. I would LOVE to see Lion King live!

       
  2. kristy

    July 9, 2010 at 7:59 am

    ahh how fun. wish i could have gone. i love musicals! and i hope all of our kids do the music thing. i’ll be lost if none of them do. surely between 5 of them though we will have 1 excel in the area. =) Glad she enjoyed it. When Kayden gets older we will have to all go do a girls night together. =)

     
    • Jessica

      July 9, 2010 at 10:54 am

      LOL- I think our odds are pretty good, Kris. I think Jalyn’s definitely going to be a little singer. At least, I hope so:)

       
  3. Jenny

    July 10, 2010 at 7:48 am

    What a great night for her! Live musical theatre is so much fun! 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      July 10, 2010 at 8:22 am

      I totally agree, Jenny! One of my favorite special treats. I really miss performing in it…it’s hard to not be all “That’s SO not how I would have done that part!” lol!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
