RSS

Dear Kristan Higgins

08 Jul

Dear Kristan,

I apologize if I seem presumptious by referring to you by your first name, but I feel as if we are already the bestest and dearest of friends, who hang out at kitschy coffee shops and discuss So You Think You Can Dance and Nora Robert’s newest release.  I blame this fantasy friendship solely on your lovely interaction with your fans via your Facebook page, which is what triggered a near panic attack in me this morning.  Let me explain…

I clicked onto bn.com this morning to locate the release date for your upcoming title, All I Ever Wanted.  (Side note: It’s being released near my birthday! Happy Birthday to me!!). While perusing, I noticed a book listed under your name titled Fools Rush in, which, GASP– I HAVE NOT READ!  How can that be??  As I mentioned here back in March, when I disappear from my blog for periods of time, it’s often because I’ve discovered a new (to me) author, and am drowning myself in the backlist.  You were the author I was referring to in that post.  For about three weeks, I devoured every book I could find by you, but somehow I missed FRI – thus, the aforementioned panic attack.

Fast forward to this afternoon when I drove past a little, used bookshop.  I decided to stop, thinking maybe, just maybe, they would have Fools Rush In.  I entered, inhaled the slightly musty smell of books, and walked directly to the romance section – and there, faced directly at me, was Fools Rush In.  The only book they had by you in stock (because, really, who parts with their KH books??), just waiting for me.

It was a wonderful book day – when the stars and book spines magically aligned to create a cloud of Jessica Happiness.

I really must go now — Fools Rush In is awaiting, and I can’t possibly wait another single minute.  And as soon as I turn the last page, I’ll be eagerly counting the days until All I Ever Wanted hits the shelves.

Your (hopefully not-creepy and un-stalkerish) biggest fan,
Jessica

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2010 in Books, Kristan Higgins

 

8 responses to “Dear Kristan Higgins

  1. fuzzycricket

    July 9, 2010 at 7:54 am

    Now, that’s a fun fan letter. It’s funny how we get to know the authors through their work. It’s also funny how we connect to certain authors more than others.

     
    • Jessica

      July 10, 2010 at 8:24 am

      Isn’t that the truth? I can guarantee you that I could read a book similar in plot to Kristan’s, but it wouldn’t catch me in the same manner. She creates characters and worlds that are so loveable and enchanting that every time I close one of her books, I internally say, “I want to go live there! Don’t make me leave!! *SOB*”. Yes, I am a dork:)

       
  2. kristy

    July 9, 2010 at 8:02 am

    you so need to be a book critic Jess or (and with the likely hood of sounding stupid to my book lover friend) one of those people who read the authors books to decide if its worth publishing. lol i can not think of the name of them. anywho you get my drift, those jobs would be perfect for you!

     
    • Jessica

      July 10, 2010 at 8:25 am

      I would LOVE to be in the book business. I miss my days at B&N. One thing I always really enjoyed was writing Staff Recommends. I guess this blog is just really one big Staff Recommend, lol.

       
  3. Kristan Higgins

    July 9, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Dear Jessica,

    How lovely it would be to meet for coffee! Alas, we’d have to discuss Deadliest Catch (Johnathan…I love you! Phil…I miss you!), since I don’t watch SYTYCD. I’m so glad you like my books! That’s a sentence I use over and over, but every time, it’s absolutely heartfelt. Thank you humbly and profoundly for your charming letter.

    Kristan

     
    • Jessica

      July 10, 2010 at 8:29 am

      Kristan,

      I’ll forgive you the lack of watching SYTYCD. I understand it’s not for everyone –but maybe next season you could give it a try? 🙂 And thank YOU, humbly and profoundly, for your enchanting worlds that you create. They make me smile. As did seeing that you read my post and commented. THANK YOU!! A prime example of why you are such a wonderful author– you take the time to connect with your fans. We thank you.

      Jess

       
  4. 2 kids...3 martinis

    July 9, 2010 at 10:04 am

    **big smiles**

    “…the stars and book spines aligned…”–my favoite part.

    🙂

     
    • Jessica

      July 10, 2010 at 8:29 am

      LOL– I loved the visual it created for me. It brought to mind a new tattoo idea as well:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
