RSS

Louise Penny – The Best Mystery Author You (May) Have Not Heard Of

10 Jul

Every few months, Barnes & Noble chooses a title that they feature as a B&N Recommends title.  I’ve found it to be a wonderful way to introduce new (to me) authors. Recently, they featured A Brual Telling by Louise Penny as their selection.  Upon reading their review, I was intrigued, but also noted that Brutal Telling was the fifth in the series featuring Inspector Armand Gamache.  Of course, I can’t possibly start at the end of a series –that’s just not how I roll – so I set upon doing some research and locating the earlier titles in the series.

Enter Still Life, Book 1, which introduces the reader to not only the main character around which the series is centered, Inspector Armand Gamache, but also Three Pines, a quaint Canadian village inhabited by an intriguing  cast of loveable characters.  I firmly believe that sometimes a book/series will strike a special chord within the reader based on the time frame during which it is read.  For example, during this unbearable heat wave that has struck our city, I was primed and ready, to read a series set in the autumn, in the mountains.  Not to mention that Inspector Gamache is a stand-up guy.  The kind of man you want as a father/grandfather/uncle/brother. 

Not to mention the writing, the writing, the seamless, concise writing!  Louise Penny truly has a gift for creating a world that you’ll never want to leave.  As soon as I finished Still Life, I rushed right out and bought the next two books, because I knew I couldn’t bear another minute away from Three Pines.  I devoured them just as quickly as Still Life, and enjoyed them just as much, if not even more, than the first in the series. 

I hope that you’ll give Louise Penny a whirl.  Trust me — I think you’ll thank me if you do:)

 
 

3 responses to “Louise Penny – The Best Mystery Author You (May) Have Not Heard Of

  1. fuzzycricket

    July 11, 2010 at 9:53 am

    I love finding new authors in unexpected places. Sounds like I’ll be picking this one up. Thanks!

     
    • Jessica

      July 11, 2010 at 7:53 pm

      Well, I can honestly say that I don’t think you’ll be wasting your time if you do so. 🙂 Check out this link to her blog where she talks about the surprising (to her) success of Still Life. So touching!

      http://www.louisepenny.com/

       
      • Jessica

        July 11, 2010 at 8:02 pm

        And I forgot to mention to look at her events page, you’ll see that she visits book clubs via Skype. How much do I love that?? Authors who make themself so accessible to their fans hold a special place in my heart:)

         

Leave a Reply

 
