RSS

My Happy List – Take 1

11 Jul

I’ve chosen to not really dwell upon it via my blog, but I’ve been really struggling lately.  In my role as a wife. My role as a mother.  As a friend.  As a woman.  My husband lost his job almost three months ago, and that one event has triggered an avalanche of emotions in me, rendering me speechless and unable to deal with things that need to be dealt with.  (If you ignore it, if will go away right?? ).  It’s not even just the financial difficulties that a single working parent situation has brought to our home.  It feels as though the balance has shifted on its axis – and not in a way that works for us – or for me, at least.  I can only hope, wish, pray and pray some more than things will right themselves soon.

But in the meantime, in an effort to get myself out of my self-imposed funk, I’ve decided to start a Sunday feature titled “My Happy List” where I share the things that have made me smile over the last week.  Feel free to join the bandwagon if you’d like to share as well.  Here’s my list for this week.

1.  Natalie Grant/ Jordin Sparks duet Human from the 2010 Dove Awards.  This song moves me so deeply.

2.  The kids got new haircuts this weekend.  Jaxen is back to his mohawk style for the remainder of the summer, and Sister Bear decided it was time to chop hers back off. Woot woot! She has such fine hair that it gets stringy the longer it gets, and I adore her with a shorter style.  Sassilicious!

3.  I just started this book, and am only a couple chapters  in, but so  far, it’s been a very enjoyable, light-hearted read. Perfect for rainy evenings on the porch!

4.  This photo of Jalyn makes me happy.  It was taken a few weeks ago in a big tree in my parent’s front yard.  I’m hoping to get a post up with some more pics from our trip soon.

5.  And this picture of Jaxen also makes my heart sing:) It was taken on the swingset in my parent’s backyard.  *sigh* I’m already feeling homesick again and it’s only been  a few weeks!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2010 in Happy List, J-Bo, Sister Bear

 

8 responses to “My Happy List – Take 1

  1. shortmama

    July 11, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Im sorry you are struggling. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Love your girlie’s hair, so cute!

     
    • Jessica

      July 14, 2010 at 7:32 pm

      Thank you, Amanda! I’m sorry I’m so so behind on keeping up with your Short Family Adventures. And I totally spaced on sending the postcard! Is it too late??

       
  2. Cyndi

    July 12, 2010 at 5:43 am

    Great pics and a great idea to focus on the happy!! 🙂

    My husband’s prolonged unemployment several years ago was the final straw in a long line of events that shifted the balance of our relationship to a point that did not work for me. It triggered my own downward spiral and caused me to wake up and realize my life in general wasn’t working for me. I was an active participant in my unhappiness but had ignored it and allowed it to fester for 10 years. So…I get it. I understand you don’t want to write about it but wanted you to know I understand the feelings. Hang in there girl! 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      July 14, 2010 at 7:33 pm

      Thank you, Cyndi! I knew you would understand. Yes, I have been an “active participant” in my current unhappiness, and am slowly working on building up the courage and strength to deal with some stuff. I appreciate your support!

       
  3. fuzzycricket

    July 12, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Jess, you are wise woman. I hope you find a smidgen of peace. LOVE the idea of a happy list! What a great way to find and acknowledge the good things happening around us. That takes strength.

     
    • Jessica

      July 14, 2010 at 7:33 pm

      Rach: “…wise woman”? Boy, I must really have you fooled! 🙂

       
  4. Jenny

    July 12, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    *hug* I’m sorry you’re having such a hard time, and you’re brilliant for coming up with this Happy List. Thinking of small things that cheer yourself up can make such a difference. *more hug*

     
    • Jessica

      July 14, 2010 at 7:35 pm

      Thanks so much, Jenny. And thank you for always taking the time to swing by my page and comment. It really means a lot to me. I adore your blog, and only wish that I had an inkling of your talent!

       

Leave a Reply

 
