RSS

The Music of 8.8.08

08 Aug

Today is  our two year wedding anniversary.   Since, to me, it feels as if our wedding was just yesterday, I find this difficult to comprehend.  And wow, what a two years it’s been….we’ve gone through some weird/bad/strange stuff, but we’ve  also had lots of laughs and made some great  memories as well.  I thought that today I would share some music that played a vital part in our wedding ceremony.  Since I’m obviously one of the biggest musicwhore’s you’ll ever encounter, it will probably come as no surprise that I had our wedding music picked out for years before we actually tied the knot.  I didn’t have any idea where we would get married, what my dress  would look  like, what kind of  cake we wanted — but you can be certain that I DID know what would be playing as I walked down the aisle.  And here it is, for your listening pleasure – Songbird by Eva Cassidy.

Our wedding invitiations contained a quote at  the bottom that read, “I’ve  lived enough to know what it is, and what is not….and you are.”  Taken from the Carolyn Dawn Johnson song “You Are” which has played  a special role in our relationship since it’s  early days.  I vividly recall singing this song to  Jr. in the tiny living room  of our first rent house together (likely intoxicated, LOL), trying not to step on the hot floor furnace as I did  so.   And this was the closing track on the first mixtape  I ever  made him — and we all  know that the final track is THE most important on a tape made with love.

As the guests  arrived and were seated, I had made a CD mix to be playing.  One of my favorite  memories of  that day, simply because  it was such a random piece of luck (no pun intended), the last song to play before my Dad walked me down the aisle was Lucky by Jason Mraz and Colbie Caillat.  It echoed  in my ears as I showed  my Dad the photo of my Mom that I had inserted into my bouquet so that she could  make the journey down the aisle with us.  And yes, this was right before  I started sobbing like a baby.  Here is Lucky, and by the way, Darrell cried too, but of course, no one got a picture of that! [And just a side note, how delicious does Jason look in this? Holy moly!]

And in closing, after the vows were  completed, and my dear friend Kelly announced us as husband and wife, my friends and family all sang along to Seasons of Love from RENT- thus completing one of the best days of my life with a memory that will never leave my heart.  “Measure you life, measure your life in love.”

Here’s to many more years of love, and music, babe.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2010 in Anniversary, wedding

 

4 responses to “The Music of 8.8.08

  1. Jenny

    August 8, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Aw, what a sweet post. Congratulations and happy anniversary!

     
  2. shortmama

    August 8, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Happy Anniversary!

     
  3. fuzzycricket

    August 9, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Congrats on 2 years! That’s awesome! I love how you wove your day through with music, and how that music still reminds you of your sweet day.

     
  4. Lusty Reader

    August 12, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    thank you for sharing these beautiful memories with us, what a true “soundtrack to your life” and such an important day in your life at that! it sounds like you did a great job incorporating contemporary music into your wedding day, which can be hard to find just the right ones, but i loved your selections and got goosebumps reading your descriptions of how they made you feel and how they feature in past memories and now these new ones. Congrats!

     

Leave a Reply

 
