RSS

Everything Austen II: Jane Bites Back

28 Aug

Jane Bites Back by Michael Thomas Ford
Trade Paperback – 299 pages
Obtained from the library

 

 

 

 

 

 

 After  waiting for quite some time, finally my first selection for the Everything Austen II Challenge arrived at the library.  I spent a lazy Saturday morning enjoying Jane Bites Back.  Couch, coffee and cozy pillows – I’m not even ashamed to admit that  I didn’t change out of my pajamas till about 4:00 pm.  What a leisurely way to spend a day:)

In this particular rendition of Jane Austen’s life, the beloved author is living as Jane Fairfax in upstate New York, running a small bookstore, trying to hide the fact that she’s a vampire.  Everything is going along smoothly until she receives a visit from some dear old literary friends, Lord Byron and Charlotte Bronte.  Add in the fact that she’s finally going to be a published author again, and keeping everyone unaware of her taste for blood becomes all the more challenging. 

I’m a sucker for a book that makes me laugh out loud.  And JBB, being full of literary one-liners and underhanded puns, kept me smiling.  Although this certainly isn’t a book that I would have normally picked up of my own accord (thank you, EAII, for forcing me out of my reading comfort zone), I do believe I will read the sequel “Jane Goes Batty” when it’s released next February.  Now I’m anxious to move on to my next Austen related book….off to read! 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2010 in Book Review, Books read, Everything Austen II

 

5 responses to “Everything Austen II: Jane Bites Back

  1. fuzzycricket

    August 28, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    What a fun angle for a Jane Austen book, LOL! I love clever, literary spoofs. And PJs are the perfect reading attire; good for you!

     
    • Jessica

      August 29, 2010 at 8:52 am

      Uh-greed. I have been reading lots and lots lately, thus, my husband sees me in my jammies quite a bit. *grin* Poor guy. 🙂

       
  2. Laura's Reviews

    August 31, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    I love books that make me laugh. I need to add this to my giant “to read” list. I hope my library has it! Thank-you for the great review!

     
    • Jessica

      August 31, 2010 at 7:13 pm

      Hi Laura…thanks for stumbling over to the OB– welcome. And I totally understand the giant “to read” list. Mine is, well…overflowing:)

       
  3. Shannon

    September 5, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    This one has been on my “to read” list for awhile… I’ll have to move it up in the queue!

     

Leave a Reply

 
