RSS

R.I.P. V: It’s Back!

01 Sep

Last fall, I participated in my very first reading challenge here in the blogosphere.  Hosted by the graciously kind Carl it proved to be a wonderful experience.  Not only did I get to read a variety of intriguing, atmospheric books, but it also gave me the opportunity to discuss them with other readers.  This challenge encouraged me to get out of my reading box and try some new stuff — most of which I really enjoyed.  Others…not so much. You can read my confession about that experience here if you so desire:)

And here we go again!!

R.I.P. V
[Be sure to click the link to see all the rules and such.  Oh wait…there aren’t any rules!  The only rule -have fun, and share that fun with others.  I’ve got this in the bag!]

Here are my picks for Readers Imbibing Peril V- running September 1st through October 31st.  I’m aiming to read at least four of my selections, but obviously reserve the right to pick/choose/edit my list as I go along. It’s hard not to get distracted by all the great stuff out there!

1.  The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley – Carl had such high praise for this one last year that I’ve decided it’s a must read for RIP V.

2.  Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman (and watch movie as well, thus also participating in Peril on the Screen) – I’ve never read this one, or seen the movie, but I’m a fan of novels that contain magical elements while being set in reality, so I have high hopes for this one.

3.  The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman  (I hope to listen to the audiobook as well, since I’ve heard such exceptional things about that medium of this particular title).

4.  Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger– I had this on my list for last year’s challenge, but the reservation line at the library was just too long. 

5.  In the Woods by Tana French – I’ve been intrigued by this title for some time. I love mystery/thrillers, Ireland, and edge-of-your-seat storylines, all of which I’ve been told this book contains.

6. Trick or Treat Murder:  A Lucy Stone Mystery by Leslie Meier – I’m a sucker for a lighthearted, holiday themed mystery.  I haven’t read any of this series before, but I’m hopeful that it will work as a stand alone title.  

7.  The Tale of Halcyon Crane by Wendy Webb– I’ve heard promising things about this one via the interwebs.

If anyone has any thoughts on any of these selections that they would like to share, I would appreciate it.  Obviously, I need a little help narrowing it down:) I’d love to read them all — maybe I can convince Real Life to stay out of the way so I can do just that!

Happy Spooky Reading to all!

[Edit as of 9-6-10:  Of course, I’ve stumbled across another book I’d like to add to my RIP list — The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff.   Yet another edit – dated 9-12-10:  would like to re-read John Bellairs]

 
18 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2010 in R.I.P. 2010

 

18 responses to “R.I.P. V: It’s Back!

  1. Melanie

    September 1, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    I have both read and seen Practical Magic and enjoyed the movie more than the book but i hope you like both! Also, i LOVED The Graveyard Book. Happy Reading!

     
    • Jessica

      September 2, 2010 at 7:36 am

      Thanks, Melanie — I think I’m going to save Graveyard Book for right before Halloween to emphasize the spooky factor. Happy Reading to you as well!

       
  2. reviewsbylola

    September 1, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    You’ve chosen such great books. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, Her Fearful Symmetry and In the Woods are all fantastic!

     
    • Jessica

      September 2, 2010 at 7:36 am

      I’m so glad to hear that, Lola. Last year, I was a *little* too ambitious with my selections, so hopefully this year will go better!

       
  3. Carl V.

    September 1, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    I just checked out the audio version of In the Woods from the library tonight. Its a long one on audio, but will give me a chance to see what everyone is raving about while also being able to read other stuff from this ever-growing pile! I’m listening to The Graveyard Book right now (for the second time). Hopefully I haven’t hyped Sweetness too much. It was such a sweet book, but I’ve read some less than favorable reviews as well.

     
    • Jessica

      September 2, 2010 at 7:38 am

      Carl- I have every faith that your review of Sweetness was spot on. And besides, who can resist that cover!?? I would have added it to my pile regardless:)

       
  4. Chelle

    September 2, 2010 at 7:35 am

    Ooo…Wonderful list! Looking forward to your reviews!

     
    • Jessica

      September 2, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      Thanks so much, Chelle… and I’ve gotta say, I went over and checked out your page, and LOVE it! Really cool stuff, I’ll definitely be adding you to my ever-growing blogroll. (I blame Carl:))

       
  5. Valerie

    September 2, 2010 at 9:54 am

    That is a good list! I haven’t read any of these books yet, but there are quite a few that I’ve heard good things about. I’m sure you’ll have fun with this year’s RIP :-).

     
    • Jessica

      September 2, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      Valerie: I, too, have heard lots of good things about most of this, which is what prompted me to add them to my RIP list. I hope they live up to the hype:)

       
  6. fuzzycricket

    September 2, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    Nice selection! I am so excited for this challenge. It kicks off the autumn fun and gives me ideas for books I normally wouldn’t read. IN THE WOODS and SWEETNESS sound awesome! I may borrow your recommendations.

     
    • Jessica

      September 2, 2010 at 7:10 pm

      Agreed, Rach! Makes me want to bob for apples and make cider, lol. Feel free to borrow away!! I can’t wait to see what you go with.

       
  7. Kate

    September 3, 2010 at 6:12 am

    Wow, I’d completely forgotten how much I’d wanted to read Practical Magic! I’ve always loved the movie, especially the aunts and a young Goran Visnijc. I’m going to have to request that from my library. Thanks for the recommendation, and happy reading!

     
    • Jessica

      September 3, 2010 at 7:31 am

      Kate: A young Goran….I had no idea. I think the movie just moved up in my list. Peril on the Screen + a little eye candy….sounds perfect to me:)

       
  8. Jenny

    September 3, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Lots of fun choices! I’m so excited this challenge has come around again. 😀

     
    • Jessica

      September 4, 2010 at 9:05 pm

      Me too, Jenny, me too. Can’t wait to hear what you are reading! Your reviews are always so great.

       
  9. Kailana

    September 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    I hope you enjoy The Graveyard Book! Happy reading!

     
    • Jessica

      September 8, 2010 at 7:47 am

      Thanks, Kailana. From all the good things I’ve heard about it, I’m sure I will:) Happy Spooky Reading to you as well!

       

Leave a Reply

 
