RSS

A Little Slice of Heaven

26 Sep

Today, my little family and I left the real world behind and immersed ourselves in the Oklahoma State Fair for almost the entire day.  We walked.  We ate. We played. We smiled. We ate some more. We laughed.  We held hands.  We walked even further.  We ate again.  We roamed.  We giggled.  And then, of course, we ate one last time.

It was a little slice of heaven.  I left the phone at home.  And the camera.  And simply immersed myself totally in the joy of watching the three people I love most in this world enjoying a crisp, sunshiny day of fall.  I took many a mental snapshot of the pleasure on their faces as they soared in the air on the Crazy Plane, the greasy facial remnants after the requisite turkey leg consumption, the sticky cotton candy hands, the sunburn on the nape of the neck.  Those treasured images, and these words, I hope will always take me back to a day that was sheer perfection. 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “A Little Slice of Heaven

  1. kristy

    September 26, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    ahh fun times! glad you guys had a wonderful day. We did not make it to the state fair this year. Hopefully next year we will!

     
    • Jessica

      September 26, 2010 at 8:59 pm

      I hope you do make it next year too–the kids would so enjoy it, and it’s a MUST to get some cheese on a stick:)

       
  2. fuzzycricket

    September 28, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Jess – What a perfect way to spend a day. I love the mental snapshot game. I sometimes feel that being behind a lens separates me from the moment being captured. Leaving the camera? Genius. The phone? Even better. Now I’m craving corn dogs and funnel cakes.

     
  3. Jenny

    September 30, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Aw, it sounds like a wonderful day! I go back and forth about whether to bring my camera on outings with family/friends. Part of me really wants to hold on to the moment, and part of me feels like having a camera makes me enjoy it less. The best thing is for someone else to bring their camera, so I’m not responsible for the pictures! :p

     

Leave a Reply

 
