RSS

Bareilles Bound

02 Oct

Let me preface this post with the small little tidbit of information that I’m a HUGE fan of Sara Bareilles.  Ok – now that’s out of the way.

Today my bestie DeAnna and I hit the road for Dallas, about a 3 1/2 hour trip south, to attend the Sara Bareilles concert being held at the Palladium Ballroom.  We loaded up the MILF-mobile, packed up our sign for Sara and waited three hours for DeAnna’s huband to make sure that would encounter no car trouble along the way.  Ok, maybe not three hours…but it felt like it:)  (Heart you, Mr. DeAnna!  Thanks for keeping us safe!)

And to be honest, even with all the excitement of the evening, I still can’t find the words to describe how freakin’ amazing it was.  The show was opened up with a short set by Javier Dunn, Sara’s longtime friend and guitarist.  I’ve had a mad crush on Javi for years, and may or may not have watched youtube videos of him over and over and over.  So when he announced that he would be signing autographs after his set, of course, I played it totally cool and calm and collected and very “un-stalkerish”.  *snort* Right! 

He was totally gracious and uber-cool, as expected, and was suitably impressed while I wowed him with my knowledge of his solo career.  Um, not. I couldn’t form a stinking sentence without tripping all over my tongue!  (Um…did I mention how cute he is?? And cool?  And tall?? *sigh*)

Next up was a set by Greg Laswell, who I was unfamiliar with at the time, but sure am glad I was given a chance to be exposed to his music.  Lord, this guy was funny! And so, so talented.  Really– who would have ever envisioned a man, performing an acoustic, slowed-down version of “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” and it WORKING??  Not me…but it certainly did. 

And last, but certainly not least, Sara Bareilles came onstage (did I mention we were front row center!???) and rocked.our.freakin.faces.off.  Seriously.  Her albums obviously show her talent as a songwriter and singer, but she really shines in person.  It’s like a cloud of heavenly musical goodness just surrounds her. 

After blowing our mind, Sara was gracious enough to come out and meet those of us who had waited outside her tour bus in the freezing windy cold.  (And yes, I’m THAT kind of fan.)  The beautiful sign we had made for her had been confiscated before the show, so we showed it to her when we met her, and she was suitably appalled that they hadn’t let us hold it during the show, and autographed it for us. 

Sara…you are the bees knees.  And elbows.  And legs.  Thank you for making our night so stunningly spectacular.

 

2 responses to “Bareilles Bound

  1. Jenny

    November 15, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Sounds so fun! I’m glad you had such a great time!

     
    • Jessica

      November 16, 2010 at 7:59 pm

      Thanks, Jenny:) I just had to spill it all out of my head onto the blog so that I don’t forget all the lovely little details.

       

Leave a Reply

 
