RSS

The Sci-Fi Experience 2011

12 Jan

I spent the last month of 2010 reading….wait for it….keep waiting…..ok, I’ll tell ya — science fiction.  *gasp* I know, right?? Not exactly the words you would ever expect to hear come out of the mouth of this romance/mystery/chick lit/food writing/travel memoir lover.  But as I’ve mentioned before, sometimes certain books just find their way to you when you need them most.  I needed something different.  Refreshing.  Unique.  Enter the Sirantha Jax series by Ann Aguirre.

Let me say, in the interest of full disclosure, that some may not consider these books “sci-fi”.  But they take place on foreign planets, in space itself, and in spacecrafts. Wars rage.  Jax (a heroine who kicks much ass, I might add) literally jumps through space, navigating from beacon to beacon, while linked in with her pilot March (the dark, brooding hero that you can’t help but love.)  And I’ve gotta say….if these aren’t sci-fi, with a healthy dollop of romance thrown in, of course, then I’m not quite certain what is.

Which is exactly why I’ve decided to participate in the newest experience (Isn’t that word lovely? Induces much less pressure than ‘challenge’, I believe) being hosted by the fantastic Carl over at Stainless Steel Droppings.  All you have to do is sign up, read some sci-fi, and talk about if you’d like.  No need to read a certain amount of books — just between now and the end of the February, treat yourself to some good books.  That’s my kind of deal.

I adored Grimspace, Wanderlust and Doubleblind, and will be delving into the fourth Jax novel just as soon as I get my hot little hands on it.  And I have no doubt that I’ll enjoy it enormously.  But what I want to know is – will I enjoy titles that may be  considered more mainstream sci-fi?  When you take away the lusty bits (as my friend Lusty Reader  so aptly calls them), will I still enjoy the essence of the science fiction experience?  That’s the big question.  And if, as I hope it is, the answer is a resounding yes, then I’m looking forward to having a vast new selection of books to partake in!

So, fellow Sci-Fi Experience readers, do you have any suggestions as to which direction I should take? Any particular titles or authors that might be good beginning efforts for a self-proclaimed sci-fi virgin like myself? 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2011 in Aguirre, Books, Sci-Fi Experience 2011, Sirantha Jax

 

7 responses to “The Sci-Fi Experience 2011

  1. Carl V.

    January 13, 2011 at 7:10 am

    I have been interested in these books for a long time and am glad to hear that you are reading them and enjoying them. I need to try to work the first one in myself sometime this year. Thanks for joining in the experience. I hope you have fun with it.

     
    • Jessica

      January 13, 2011 at 8:23 am

      Carl, I hope you get a chance to give Grimspace a whirl. It’s an addictive little world that Ms. Aguirre has built, full of secondary characters that I love almost more than the main ones. Looking forward to seeing what you choose to read for the SFE.

       
  2. Jenny

    January 13, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    Not to be obvious, but have you read Ender’s Game? It was one of the first sci-fi books I ever read. Also, Walter Miller’s A Canticle for Leibowitz. So, so, so very good.

     
  3. fuzzycricket

    January 13, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Scifi can be a lot of fun, even without lusty bits. Although I will never turn down a good lusty bit. Thanks for the link and the enabling – I’m all set for a scifi adventure. 😉

     
  4. Carl V.

    January 13, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    I can definitely throw in with the Ender’s Game suggestion, followed up quickly by Speaker for the Dead. Those are excellent novels.

     
  5. jessica

    January 16, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    I’m almost embarrassed to admit that I haven’t read Ender. Thanks for the idea. I’ve always been attracted to Snow Crash by Stephenson. Any words of yays or nays towards that one?

     
  6. Lusty Reader

    January 18, 2011 at 11:11 am

    straight sci-fi? hooo boy that is a whole nother beast! def different than “paranormal.” i dont know if ive ever read any true sci fi set in space? well some YA i suppose like Ender’s Game or a Wrinkle in Time. i think most of the stuff i’ve read is termed more “fantasy” like Kate Elliott’s books, but the more i think of it i dont think ive ever read any adult books set in space! im shocked at my lack of diversity!

     

Leave a Reply

 
