RSS

Legalities

28 Feb

Working in the legal field means that you often have no idea how your day/week is going to go.  It could be slow, and lots of your time is spent doing administrative type tasks so that you aren’t drowning in mountains in paper.  Other times, deadlines bury you (along with the aforementioned mountains of paper.)  And to be honest, I’ve yet to decide whether I prefer to know a hellish week is ahead of me, or if I’d rather be surprised and forced to just go with it.  Last week….I knew to expect chaos…and had known for some time.  Despite my best attempts to be prepared as best I could, everything I touched seem to go wrong in some small way.  I rarely talk about my work on here, preferring to leave work exactly that…work. I like having a job that (the majority of the time) I can show up at 8, leave at 5, and come home to the things that matter most to me.  But I thought in this particular instance, the visual was too good to resist.  [Bear in mind this is only half of the project I had due Friday.]

I’m lucky to not only have a job I love, and the best bosses and coworkers ever, but honestly…I’m super grateful to simply HAVE a job.  It’s been 10 months since my husband was laid off, so every day that my alarm goes off (and I silently curse it for interrupting my John Mayer/Jason Aldean/Colin Firth dream), I’m still darn glad that I have a reason to get out of bed.

So today, although I sat bolt upright at 4:30 a.m., I’m posting this to remind myself of small blessings.  I’m certain I won’t feel this way at 4:30 p.m., and I’ll need this reminder:)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Legalities

  1. fuzzycricket

    February 28, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Jess, you have one of the best attitudes around. You are able to find those small blessings and enjoy the heck out of them.

    That project looks like it took some serious organization and attention to details. It looks like a doozy. Good job for a job well done! You deserve an extra helping of Colin Firth. 😉

     
  2. Rita

    March 2, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I am *gobsmacked* by those stacks of paper. Absolutely gobsmacked.

     

Leave a Reply

 
