RSS

Magic

09 May

My little girl believes in magic.  As every 7 year old should.  Specifically, she’s on close terms with the Tooth Fairy right now.  Today, she was an amazing trooper while the dentist extracted her front tooth.  (It was a partial from when she broke it as a toddler, and the new tooth growing in above had nowhere to go; thus, the need to remove it.)

She thinks she looks like a vampire.  My husband says she looks like a hillbilly. Her brother calls her “The Toothless Wonder”. I think she looks like a sweet girl who now speaks with a lisp and has difficulty eating corn on the cob. 

I also think she looks like a girl who wakes up sobbing at 3 in the morning, just absolutely distraught that the Tooth Fairy hadn’t visited.  It took some explaining that Ms. Fairy had a big old world to tend to every night and just hadn’t made it to our house yet to get her to calm down. Still…she was restless and awoke to every little rustle of the sheet.  I’m surprised the Tooth Fairy was even able to sneak in undetected.

But she did…oh yes, she did. *grin*

 

 

3 responses to “Magic

  1. fuzzycricket

    May 10, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    As my boy once accused, “That’s one sneaky Tooth Fairy!” So glad to know that the Tooth Fairy is alive and kickin’. I cracked up at “Toothless Wonder.” Ah, brothers. Always have something helpful to say. Cute post.

     
    • Jessica

      May 10, 2011 at 7:00 pm

      Awww…thank you…much appreciated! We watched the Adam Sandler movie “Grown Ups” last night which was really funny and enjoyable, but had a scene where the mother inadvertently revealed the Tooth Fairy’s identity to her daughter. I think that’s probably why Sis was so concerned last night, lol. I had to explain my way out of that one too! *whew* It was a crazy night.

       
  2. Jenny

    May 16, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Aww. I was always amazed at how the Tooth Fairy managed to get in at night, no matter how firmly I decided to stay awake and wait for her. My Tooth Fairy also occasionally wrote us very, very tiny notes — like when my sister lost her tooth in the swimming pool, the Tooth Fairy dropped her a line to let her know she had retrieved the tooth from the pool and was paying for it anyway. :p

     

Leave a Reply

 
