RSS

Things That Go Bump in the Night: RIP VI

06 Sep

I’ve traded in my after-work shorts for my favorite, well-worn pajama pants.

I’ve dug out the Halloween coffee mug, and moved the hot cocoa to the front of the cabinet.

I’ve washed the soup pot, readying it for lots of future use.

I’ve laundered my favorite comforter, so that when I curl up in it on the couch, I’m surrounded by the scent of fresh laundry.

My Scentsy warmer has changed from Luscious Lemon, a bright, summery smell, to Blueberry Cheesecake, pure autumnal goodness.

All signs, in my home at least, that Autumn – the most wonderful time of the year – is nearly upon us.  The fact that the temperatures in Oklahoma dropped 30 degrees over the past weekend.  And the annual sign that I anxiously await for every year, which confirms the arrival of my favorite season – the RIP IV Challenge is here!

Once again, Carl is graciously hosting one of the most beloved “challenges” in the blogosphere. (Quotations used since challenge isn’t really an accurate description. It’s more of a gathering of folks who chose to imbibe in mystery, suspense, horror, dark fantasy, gothic, thriller and supernatural books and movies from September 1st through October 31st.) If you’d like to join us, feel free to click the link above and sign up. Not only is it a great way to learn of fantastic books and/or movies that you may have not otherwise been exposed to, but I’ve also met many wonderful people through this event.  This is my third time to take part in R(eaders) I(mbibing) P(eril) – and I now can’t imagine ringing in Autumn any other way. Carl is the most fantastic of hosts.  Not only does he write exceptionally insightful reviews to the books he personally reads, but he also somehow finds the time to interact personally with every single participant.  Hats of to you, Carl! I have no idea how you do it — but I’m sure glad you do!

I’ve chosen to participate in Peril the First, meaning that I plan on reading four or more RIP themed books during the challenge.

I’m sure I will continually add to this list as RIP VI proceeds, but for now, this is the pool of books I plan on choosing from.

1.  The Tale of Halcyon Crane – Wendy Webb

2.  The Graveyard Book – Neil Gaiman

3.  The Distant Hours – Kate Morton

4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

5.  In the Woods – Tana French

6.  A Discovery of Witches – Deborah Harkness

7.  The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

I also plan on taking part in a few RIP Group Reads featuring the following:

8.  The Lantern – Deborah Lawrenson

9.  Storm Front – Jim Butcher (Dresden Files #1).

I’m actually delayed in writing this post (no surprise there! HA!), and have already completed my first book “The Tale of Halycon Crane” and need to post my review.  I love how this “challenge” challenges me to try books that in the normal course of the year, I wouldn’t give a second glance.

So come… come join us as we celebrate all those things that go bump in the night!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 6, 2011 in RIP 2011

 

One response to “Things That Go Bump in the Night: RIP VI

  1. Judson

    October 4, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Go with the Graceyard book. I liked it, and then my Paul loved it, and took it to school in the 5th grade and all the 5th grade boys loved it. Which makes sense as Gaiman is a god.

     

Leave a Reply

 
