RSS

RIP VI: The Tale of Halcyon Crane

07 Sep

The Tale of Halcyon Crane
By: Wendy Webb
RIP VI Read #1 

During last year’s RIP Challenge, I had this book on my list, but was surprised when I went to check, and my local library didn’t carry it.  So when I stumbled across this gothic novel at our local Borders last January during its closing sale, I jumped at the chance to obtain it for a mere dollar. I’ve been aware of this book staring at me from my bookshelves for the past eight months, just blazing with RIP vibes. I couldn’t wait to start it for the RIP VI Challenge.

As is annual tradition, we spent our Labor Day weekend in my hometown, celebrating my beautiful niece’s birthday, and participating in the Rodeo Weekend festivities.  And, for me, sneaking pages of my first RIP read while sitting by the hotel pool.  Kind of a weird atmospheric setting, but hey – as a parent of two young kids, you take what you can get!

The Tale of Halcyon Crane is the story of Hallie James, who finds out in the first few pages that she is not who she thinks she is.  She’s really Halcyon Crane, daughter of famed photographer Madlyn Crane, and supposedly she died 30 years before, along with her father.  Considering her father is still alive, yet suffering from Alzheimers, this is quite a conundrum, and doesn’t enable her to obtain any answers regarding the past.  So Hallie/Halcyon travels to her mother’s hometown, an island in the Grand Lake area.  It is there, in this spooky, ghost-laden location that she learns the true story of who she is, as told to her by her family’s longtime housekeeper, Iris.  But rest assured…things in this town are not always as they same. Including…oh wait…you’ll just have to find out for yourself!

Full of twists and  turns, ghosts and ghoulies, Wendy Webb kept me on the edge of my seat, even though I was sitting in the broad daylight, next to a glistening, chlorinated pool.  I can only imagine how much it would have creeped me out if I’d been up late, reading by the bare-bones light of a lamp.  The Tale of Halcyon Crane was a fantastic way to ring in RIP VI!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2011 in RIP 2011

 

9 responses to “RIP VI: The Tale of Halcyon Crane

  1. fuzzycricket

    September 7, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    LOL! Love the pool setting for a spooky read. What a fun way enjoy Labor Day, finishing up summer while introducing creepy fall-time fun. I can’t believe you found this for a dollar! Awesome. I love the image of you sneaking in pages on vacation. Sounds like a wonderful vacation.

     
    • Jessica

      September 7, 2011 at 7:00 pm

      I regret not taking a photo of the motherload that I hit back in January when Borders closed. I think I bought about 40 books (A dollar a piece…all of them!! Score!), many of them upcoming Christmas gifts, but I did find a few of my favorites that I had been wanting to purchase. And I took a chance on some authors I hadn’t tried before and found a couple new favorites. Win win!

       
  2. Kailana

    September 8, 2011 at 3:21 am

    Hi! I just tried to read this review from the R.I.P. website and the URL is not right. I just thought I would let you know so people can come read your post. 🙂

    Even though it is said that bookstores have to close, I am jealous of all the wonderful prices people paid for books as a result!

     
    • Jessica

      September 8, 2011 at 7:43 am

      Kailana: Thank you for letting me know. I’m not quite sure what happened with the URL, but I’ll go post again. Poor Carl – I’m just cluttering up his review site! Oops:)

      And I agree, I was very sad to see Borders closing, but it was a definite bookish score getting so many great finds for so cheap. I just feel so bad for all those employees though. I hope they are able to find work in a timely manner.

      Thanks for visiting my page!

       
  3. Elizabeth

    September 8, 2011 at 9:47 am

    This sounds really interesting! I’ll have to add it to my list, maybe for next year’s R.I.P.

     
  4. Carl V.

    September 8, 2011 at 10:57 am

    After all that waiting that you did I am SO glad that this was worth the wait for you. Your description does make it sound as if it is awash with R.I.P. themes. Always a good thing this time of year.

    And yes, when you are a parent (heck when you are a busy adult in general) you have got to take your reading time when you can find it.

    And no worries about the links. I’m just glad you were able to get it linked. 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      September 11, 2011 at 1:39 pm

      Carl: It’s one of those books that I enjoyed — but I’m not sure that I would ever re-read it, which in my world, is the true sign of a five star book in my personal rating system. I will be sure to keep up with the author though, and read anything else she releases. I’m on an absolutely fantastic read now – can’t wait to post about it! I hope you’re having fun RIP reading experiences as well.

       
      • Carl V.

        September 11, 2011 at 2:33 pm

        I have rated things 5 (and now 10) stars before just because they are excellent, but there are those books that have a little something extra and that I too know I’ll re-read. Many times those books aren’t 5 star books if I am honest in my assessment but they speak to me personally and so they end up being books I go back to time and again when I need their comfort.

         
  5. Shelley

    September 14, 2011 at 9:40 am

    I was just thinking yesterday I need to find a good ghost story for RIP. Maybe this will be it. In daylight for sure.

     

Leave a Reply

 
