RSS

The Books of September

25 Sep

I apologize for the radio silence, my dear friends.  *insert crickets chirping here*  It’s been busy.  You know – with those little life things – like work (insanelyfreakingcrazybusy),  soccer season for J-Bo, school events, and trying to figure out how to pay the 5000 bills that seem to appear in my mailbox each day (thus – the working:) ).

Now that my whining is out of the way – rest assured, I have been finding time for some of the more pleasureful things in life.

I’ve been reading –  a lot.  Many of these selections are for RIP VI, but I just haven’t had the time to review and link quite yet. I hope to do so before October 31st:)  Here are the books that have been capturing what little time I’ve had.

And let me tell you – it’s been a GREAT reading month!  I adored Kate Morton’s The Distant Hours, and am highly anticipating reading the rest of her titles.  After recently reading my friend Fuzzy Cricket’s raving review of The Winter Sea, I knew I had to jump on that train!  I promptly reserved The Winter Sea from my library, and while waiting for my reserved copy to arrive, I used a B&N gift card I’d received as a birthday gift to purchase two of my Ms. Kearsley’s back titles .  And showing perfect timing, The Shadowy Horses arrived just as I finished Winter Sea.   I dove right into Shadowy Horses, and absolutely devoured it.  I think it may be likely that I loved it even more than Winter Sea – which I really wasn’t even sure was possible!  Now I’m onto Mariana, about 75 pages in, and loving it as well.  Isn’t it such fun to find an author that you enjoy so much that you can read their works back to back to back – and never feel as if you’ve “been there, done that”?

All in all, September has been an exceptional reading month.  I hope it’s been the same for you.   And if it hasn’t been, then I highly suggest you give Susanna Kearsley a try. I’m almost 100% certain you’ll be jumping on her fan train as well!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2011 in Books read, RIP 2011, Susanna Kearsley

 

4 responses to “The Books of September

  1. fuzzycricket

    September 25, 2011 at 10:12 am

    So happy to enable, er, share wonderful books. 😉 Glad you enjoyed Kearsley. I wonder where she’s been all my life?

     
    • Jessica

      September 25, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      Rach: Just spent my Sunday absolutely immersed in Mariana. Just finished..and all I can do is sit here and sigh and think, ‘How did I NOT see that coming!??”. Wow. That’s all I can say. You’ve gotta read this one!

       
  2. Jenny

    September 25, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Those look like excellent reading choices! RIP books are the best.

     
    • Jessica

      September 25, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      Oh Jenny – they were, they certainly were. Just what I needed to get out of the reading slump I’ve been feeling. Off to amazon to try and find the rest of Kearsley’s backtitles!

       

Leave a Reply

 
