RSS

Hiding Songs

24 Oct

It’s that time again, when the dark is surrounding me, nothing but the glow of the computer screen. The only sound the whir of the fan over the sound of music in my earphones.

Music.  My saving grace.  The thing that pulls me out when I reach my very lowest points  in life.  I want to slither my body into the music, immerse myself in it fully, until you can’t tell where I am.  Hide in the music.  Yes…that’s it exactly.

Many things are weighing me down.  Things that eat me up inside and age me outside.  I’m trying to release them, discard them from me like a dirty jacket, but they won’t go.  They. Just. Won’t. Go.

Meet my hiding songs.

Eli Lieb – “I’m losing sight of you again tonight.”

Lori McKenna – “All I ever do is work, all I ever do is pray.  But I do know that I have for you a love that never fades, and it’s okay, if it’s all I ever do.”

Angus & Julia Stone – “Am I not what you wanted?”

Damien Rice – “And if you hate me, then hate me so good that you can let me out, let me out, let me out of this hell in your arms.”

And, of course, my Adele. – “I won’t let you close enough to hurt me.”

That’s where I’ll be.  In the song.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Hiding Songs

  1. fuzzycricket

    October 25, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Ah, Jess. Hiding songs sound like such a good idea! I hope you find some peace and are able to quiet your mind with some excellent music. I need to dig through my stash and recommend some more. Any time you need to vent or unload, shoot me an email. Hang in there, my friend.

     
  2. Jessica

    October 26, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    Thanks, Rach….just still struggling to get things straightened out after my husband’s lengthy unemployment. I’m not very good at asking for help, even my husband. Sad, but I’m learning to at least admit it. And I’d love to hear anything you send my way. Have you checked out Spotify? It’s AMAZING! Such a fun way to share music with friends.

     

Leave a Reply

 
