RSS

Dear 2011

31 Dec

Dear 2011:

I can honestly say that I am not, in any way, shape, or form, sad to see you go.  You have, without a doubt, been one of those most difficult years of my life.  But you did have some redeeming qualities. Let’s focus on those, shall we?

I will forever remember you as the year of my sister’s car accident.  And although the heartbreak and pain that came with that were at times unbearable, you did teach me that I am made of stronger stuff than I thought.  And in all honesty, you did do me a favor by providing me with the opportunity to spend more time with my sister than I have since I moved out when she was seven years old.  A blessing definitely in disguise!

You also taught me this year that I can not solve, fix or carry the weight of the world all by myself.  By forcing me to be honest and open with my husband and others in my life about some struggles I was going through, I came out on the other side knowing that even in all my imperfect glory, I am loved…deeply.

This year I also learned of the power of friendship, and how even if we don’t speak or see each other often, when needed – friends will come running to your side.  Sadly, our dear friends lost their teenage son in a car accident this summer.  Even under the horrific pain of that loss, it warmed my heart to see the support and love that they received.  My friends are, and this is no exaggeration, the best in the world.

On a lighter note, you excelled 2011, by giving us Adele’s album “21”.  Literally a life changing record for me.  All I can say is … that’s mah jam!

I’m looking forward to facing 2012.   I’ve got new knowledge on my side, and we all know that knowledge is power.  I’ve got family & friends that support me, even in all my imperfect glory.  I have a husband who (even if he doesn’t often tell me)  thinks I’m pretty cool, and children that light up my life every single day.  I’m blessed to have a job that I enjoy, and a roof over my head.  I’ve got a couple new wrinkles, but also a few laugh lines that weren’t there last year.  Life, as always, is one big balancing act.  So let’s do this 2012.  Let’s laugh some more. Love some more.  Learn some more.  But let’s lay off those wrinkle, shall we?   Umkay?   Thanks.

Adieu, 2011.
-Jess

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2011 in Dear 2011, my rockin' friends, New Years, Sarah Barah

 

4 responses to “Dear 2011

  1. fuzzycricket

    January 1, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    Well said. You certainly have a way with words. Sounds like you are stronger for having endured 2011. I admire your ability to spin the positive out of those difficult situations. I’m cheering for you and have set a goal to be a better friends. You have showed me that. With kind and timely words and gifts. With sweet comments. You are one of those people I treasure and I am proud to carry that friendship in a better 2012. Bit hugs to you!

     
    • Jessica

      January 3, 2012 at 4:43 pm

      Thanks, Rach. I really do try to always see the positive in things, but some days it’a a little easier than others, for sure. I’m so glad we are friends too! I have high hopes that we’ll actually cross paths outside of the blogosphere some day:)

       
  2. Lusty Reader

    January 12, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    just catching up on old posts and had to comment here. this is beautifully written and gave me goosebumps several times. *cheers to 2012!*

     
    • Jessica

      January 13, 2012 at 12:57 pm

      Oh wow…thank you SO much! That just totally made my day. 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful New Years, and I sure have enjoyed seeing you back in the blogosphere. You’ve been dreadfully missed!

       

Leave a Reply

 
