RSS

RIP Challenge- 2009

29 Aug

I’ve been out of school for a  long time.   But even after over a decade of being out of the school loop, I still miss that back-to-school rush. The freshly sharpened pencils, the pristine noteboooks, the new shoes!!  The new year always loomed ahead with such promise.   One of the things I miss most though, especially from my college years, is being forced to try new literature.  I read, and loved, many novels throughout my education that I know I never would have discovered if left to my own devices.  To Kill a Mockingbird.  The Grapes of Wrath.  Dracula.  Poetry by Christina Rosetti. 

So it is with great pleasure, and back-to-school like excitement, that I’m going to be participating in my first ever reading challenge here in the blog-o-sphere.  I’m thrilled to be “forced” to read some new stuff!!  I’m a relative newby to this world, having only been blogging for a little over a year.  But during that time, I’ve run across numerous mentions of the R.I.P. Challenge, which is hosted annually by Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings.   My first thought has always been, “Really, Jess? You can barely deal with all that you have on your plate now, much less after you add a reading challenge!”.  Well, this time I said, “Internal voice, please shut up.  I’m doing this, and you’re gonna like it!!”  (Yes, I really do talk to myself like that. Doesn’t everyone??)

Without further ado, I bring you the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril Challenge- 2009:

 RIP2

This is how it works:  simply chose any book(s) in any of the genres below:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural
.

Next, you read them.  You review them, if you wish.  In general, you broaden your reading horizons, share it with others, and likely make some new friends, and discover some fantastic new reads along the way.  Easy, huh?  (BTW, please go visit  Carl for all the details.  He explains it much more eloquently than I.  And his page is just all around cool.)

I’ve decided to particpate in Peril the First, meaning I choose four books.  Here are my selections for the challenge:

The Magicians by Lev Grossman
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe
Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger
House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

Feel free to join in on the fun if you wish!  I plan on whipping up some hot cider and settling in with some RIP reads.  And by the way, I’m writing this with a cup of coffee in my hand… in my Halloween mug, of course.  Aren’t you ready for fall, too??

 
17 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

17 responses to “RIP Challenge- 2009

  1. deslily

    August 29, 2009 at 8:10 am

    you won’t be sorry that you joined! It’s a fun challenge and you get to read so many wonderful reviews!!

     
    • Jessica

      August 29, 2009 at 8:23 am

      Thanks so much, Deslily:) I’m really looking forward to it, and it gives me the perfect excuse to tackle some things that have been on my TBR list for a long time. Thanks for stumbling over to my page…it’s nice to meet you!

       
  2. Carl V.

    August 29, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Thanks so much for deciding to come along with us on this perilous journey. 🙂
    So great to have you along.

    As you’ve read my post about RIP you certainly know that I encourage everyone to make this a no-pressure experience. It is all about having fun getting lost in some good books.

    I will be reading Her Fearful Symmetry soon, a dear friend is sending me her ARC to borrow. I cannot wait!

    I have House of Leaves but haven’t ever read it. I should at least mentally add it to my pool of books.

     
    • Jessica

      August 29, 2009 at 9:05 am

      ARC??? Argh.. I’m so jealous I can’t hardly stand it!! 🙂 I worked at B&N for several years, and everytime I passed House of Leaves, I would think, “I really need to read that.” Lo and behold, almost a decade has passed and I still haven’t read it! Shame, shame, shame. I’m glad I remembered it for this challenge. 🙂
      Thanks for swinging by the OB!

       
  3. Amanda

    August 29, 2009 at 10:29 am

    I just might have to check this challenge!

     
    • Jessica

      August 29, 2009 at 10:38 am

      I love the no pressure of this one. Many of them look overwhelming to me. This one, you just read what you want. I love that! Hope you join in on the fun:)

       
  4. Pamela Sweet

    August 29, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Hi, Jessica! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Your book list looks great, too. I’m not sure why those books aren’t on my list, too…

    I see that you moved your blog from Blogger to WordPress. I did the same thing after having all sorts of problems. Your blog looks great!

     
    • Jessica

      August 29, 2009 at 9:36 pm

      Thanks, Pamela! I really appreciate that. I’m still fumbling around on WP, trying to forge my way, but I’m sure having a good time doing it:)

       
  5. Cyndi

    August 29, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Good luck, that’s quite a challenge and one that I would love if I didn’t KNOW I can’t commit to it now. Can’t wait to read your reviews!

     
    • Jessica

      August 29, 2009 at 4:26 pm

      Thanks, Cyndi! I realized the other day that although I read a ton, I very rarely review books on my site. And, well, it is called Overflowing Bookshelf, LOL!

       
  6. fuzzycricket

    August 29, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Ready for fall? We’re getting there. The leaves are actually starting to change in the mountains. BTW, I’d love a glass of cider! We usually serve ours up with donuts, though. Just plain old glazed or maple bars. Mmmm…creepy books and maple bars. There’s a combination.

    I love this challenge because it’s not intimidating and there’s no pressure to perform. I crack under pressure. Love your book choices!

     
    • Jessica

      August 29, 2009 at 9:37 pm

      Yes, yes, I am very much ready for fall. In Oklahoma though, you never know when it’s going to hit, LOL. Could be tomorrow….could be November. Who knows?? 🙂

       
  7. michigansmissingglove

    August 30, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Glad my review of House of Leaves helped you out a little. Good luck!! 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      August 30, 2009 at 12:46 pm

      Thank you! I’m really looking forward to it. In fact, heading to the bookstore in about fifteen minutes to get my copy of HoL. Can’t wait one more minute:)

       
  8. melissa dominic

    September 4, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    man, i’d take on HoL if only to finally finish it. ahaha. i GOTTA finish it one of these days…

     
    • Jessica

      September 4, 2009 at 10:28 pm

      I’m afraid that I’m going to end up in that same predicament….it’s a little overwhelming!!
      Thanks for coming by my page!

       
      • melissa dominic

        September 4, 2009 at 10:34 pm

        i’m sure i’ll be back, it’s a lovely little page! haha.

        yeah, i’ve started and stopped it so many time that i’m all OH MAN MUST GET THROUGH IT ONE DAY. SET ASIDE THE TIIIME.

        i HAVE loved what i have read though, if that means or counts for anything!

         

Leave a comment